Salah headlines Egypt squad for African Cup of Nations

2019-06-11 13:24
Mohamed Salah (Supplied)

London - Liverpool star Mohamed Salah headlines the 23-man Egypt squad Mexican coach Javier Aguirre unveiled Tuesday for the African Cup of Nations.

The tournament runs from June 21- July 19, with Egypt's first match against Zimbabwe on June 21.


Goalkeepers: Mohamed El Shenawy (Al Ahly), Ahmed al-Shennawy (Pyramids) and Mahmoud Abdelrahim Genesh (Zamalek)

Defenders: Ahmed Elmohamady (Aston Villa/ENG), Omar Gaber (Pyramids), Ayman Ashraf (Al Ahly), Mahmoud Hamdy el-Winsh (Zamalek), Baher ElMohamady (Ismaily), Ahmed Hegazi (West Bromwich Albion/ENG), Ahmed Ayman Mansour(Pyramids), Mahmoud Alaa (Zamalek)

Midfielders: Waleed Soliman (Al Ahly), Abdullah al-Saeed (Pyramids), Mohamed Elneny (Arsenal/ENG), Tarek Hamed (Zamalek), Ali Ahmed Ghazal (Feirense/POR), Mahmoud Hassan Trezeguet (Kasimpasa/TUR), Amr Warda (Atromitos/GRE), Nabil Emad Donga (Pyramids), Mohamed Salah (Liverpool/ENG) 

Forwards: Marwan Mohsen (Al Ahly),  Ahmed Hassan Kouka (Olympiacos/GRE), Ahmed Ali Kamel (Al Mokawloon)

Read more on:    liverpool  |  afcon 2019  |  mohamed salah  |  soccer


Read News24’s Comments Policy

Live Video Streaming
Video Highlights
Sport Talk
Breaking News

Tuesday, 25 June 2019
Cameroon v Guinea-Bissau, Ismailia Stadium 19:00
Ghana v Benin, Ismailia Stadium 22:00
Wednesday, 26 June 2019
Nigeria v Guinea, Alexandria Stadium 16:30
Uganda v Zimbabwe, Cairo International Stadium 19:00
Egypt v DR Congo, Cairo International Stadium 22:00
Thursday, 27 June 2019
Madagascar v Burundi, Alexandria Stadium 16:30
Senegal v Algeria, 30 June Stadium 19:00
Kenya v Tanzania, 30 June Stadium 22:00
Friday, 28 June 2019
Tunisia v Mali, Suez Stadium 16:30
Morocco v Cote d'Ivoire, Al-Salam Stadium 19:00
South Africa v Namibia, Al-Salam Stadium 22:00
Saturday, 29 June 2019
Mauritania v Angola, Suez Stadium 16:30
Cameroon v Ghana, Ismailia Stadium 19:00
Benin v Guinea-Bissau, Ismailia Stadium 22:00
Sunday, 30 June 2019
Madagascar v Nigeria, Alexandria Stadium 18:00
Burundi v Guinea, Al-Salam Stadium 18:00
Zimbabwe v DR Congo, 30 June Stadium 21:00
Uganda v Egypt, Cairo International Stadium 21:00
Team P W PTS
Team P W PTS
Team P W PTS
Team P W PTS
Team P W PTS
Team P W PTS

Bafana Bafana have been drawn with Cameroon, Gambia and Mauritania in the qualification stages for the 2017 AFCON tournament. Where will Shakes Mashaba's men finish in their pool?

Love 2 Meet
Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2018/19 Absa Premiership season is in full swing. Will Mamelodi Sundowns retain their title? Or can one of Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates, Wits, SuperSport United - or another team perhaps - snatch glory from the Brazilians? Be sure to visit Sport24 for all the latest news!

Latest blogs

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.