Five AFCON facts

2015-01-12 12:58
AFCON 2015 (Supplied)
AFCON 2015 (Supplied)

Malabo - Five need to know Africa Cup of Nations facts ahead of  kick-off of the 2015 tournament in Equatorial Guinea.

1. Egypt have been crowned champions a record seven times followed by Cameroon and Ghana with four titles each. The competition has been won by 14 of the 54 African Football Confederation (CAF) member states.

2. Retired Cameroon striker Samuel Eto'o is the tournament's leading all-time scorer with 18 goals followed by former Ivory Coast star Laurent Pokou (14) and the late Nigerian Rashidi Yekini (13). Ndaye Mulamba from the Democratic Republic of Congo holds the record for most goals in a single tournament with nine.

3. The record winning margin of five goals has been achieved by Ivory Coast (twice) and Guinea. Ivory Coast trounced Ethiopia 6-1 in 1970 and Guinea 5-0 in 2008 and Guinea overwhelmed debutants Botswana 6-1 three years ago.

4. Coaches Hassan Shehata of Egypt and Charles Gyamfi of Ghana share the record for the most titles with three each. Gyamfi succeeded with the Black Stars in 1963, 1965 and 1982 and Shehata with the Pharaohs in 2006, 2008 and 2010.

5. Only 11 of 29 previous hosts have won the competition with three-title Egypt leading the way. The Pharaohs triumphed on home soil in 1959, 1986 and 2006 and came third in 1974 on the other occasion they staged the event.

Read more on:    afcon 2015  |  soccer


Read News24’s Comments Policy publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.
Live Video Streaming
Video Highlights
Sport Talk


Bafana Bafana have been drawn with Cameroon, Gambia and Mauritania in the qualification stages for the 2017 AFCON tournament. Where will Shakes Mashaba's men finish in their pool?

Love 2 Meet
Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2018/19 Absa Premiership season is in full swing. Will Mamelodi Sundowns retain their title? Or can one of Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates, Wits, SuperSport United - or another team perhaps - snatch glory from the Brazilians? Be sure to visit Sport24 for all the latest news!

Latest blogs

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.