AFCON: Moses in, Emenike out

2013-02-10 20:03
Victor Moses (AFP)

Soweto - Nigeria's star winger Victor Moses starts Sunday's Africa Cup of Nations final against Burkina Faso after overcoming an ankle injury, but leading scorer Emmanuel Emenike limped out of contention.

Moses, who scored both goals in the Super Eagles' 2-0 first-round win over Ethiopia, has overcome the injury he picked up in Wednesday's semi-final drubbing of Mali.

But in-form Spartak Moscow striker Emenike, who suffered a more serious hamstring problem in the same match, has failed to make Stephen Keshi's starting XI, with Ikechukwu Uche taking his place.

Emenike, who was not even fit enough to be named on the bench, is joint leading scorer in South Africa on four goals with Mubarak Wakaso of Ghana.

Villarreal striker Uche shone during the qualifying stages for the 2013 Nations Cup before ceding his place to Emenike.

He leads the Nigerian attack with Brown Ideye.

Veteran defender and captain Joseph Yobo once again misses out through injury with goalkeeper Vincent Enyeama retaining the skipper's armband.

Attacking midfielder Jonathan Pitroipa features for Burkina Faso after having the red card he received in the semi-final penalty shoot-out win over Ghana dramatically rescinded on Friday after Tunisian referee Slim Jdidi admitted he erred in red carding the Rennes star.

Coach Paul Put named an unchanged side for the Burkinabe's first Nations Cup final, with Marseille midfielder Charles Kabore retaining the captain's armband because first-choice skipper Moumouni Dagano did not make the starting line-up.

Aristide Bance, who scored the equaliser to send Wednesday's last-four tie into extra time before Burkina Faso eventually prevailed on penalties, was once again his team's lone striker.

Algeria may have been knocked out in the first round, but the Maghreb nation were represented in the final by referee Djamel Haimoudi.


Burkina Faso: Daouda Diakite, Mohamed Koffi, Bakary Kone, Paul Koulibaly, Mady Panandetiguiri, Djakaridja Kone, Charles Kabore (capt), Florent Rouamba, Prejuce Nakoulma, Jonathan Pitroipa, Aristide Bance

Coach: Paul Put (BEL)

Nigeria: Vincent Enyeama (capt), Elderson Echiejile, Efe Ambrose, Godfrey Oboabona, Kenneth Omeruo, Ogenyi Onazi, John Obi Mikel, Sunday Mba, Victor Moses, Ikechukwu Uche, Brown Ideye

Coach: Stephen Keshi

Referee: Djamel Haimoudi (ALG)

Read more on:    afcon  |  emmanuel emenike  |  victor moses  |  soccer

What To Read Next


Read News24’s Comments Policy publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
1 comment
Comments have been closed for this article.
Live Video Streaming
Video Highlights
Sport Talk


Bafana Bafana have been drawn with Cameroon, Gambia and Mauritania in the qualification stages for the 2017 AFCON tournament. Where will Shakes Mashaba's men finish in their pool?

Love 2 Meet
English Premiership flutter

Take Sport24's "expert" tips at your peril...


The 2017/18 Absa Premiership season is under way. Can Bidvest Wits defend their title? Will Soweto giants Kaizer Chiefs or Orlando Pirates emerge victorious? Or will the bookies' favourites, Mamelodi Sundowns, taste success for a record eighth time? Stay glued to Sport24 to find out!

Latest blogs

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.