World Rugby boss admits Peyper error

2016-11-24 15:07
Ireland captain Rory Best speaks to Jaco Peyper (Getty Images)

Cape Town - World Rugby’s referees boss Alain Rolland has reportedly told All Blacks coach Steve Hansen that South African referee Jaco Peyper wrongly sin-binned scrumhalf Aaron Smith in last weekend’s Test between Ireland and New Zealand.

Peyper’s performance was a hot topic of discussion in the match in Dublin - which the All Blacks won 21-9.

According to the website, Rolland told Hansen that Peyper wrongly sin-binned All Black scrumhalf Smith in the 17th minute of the encounter.

Peyper pinged Smith for "spoiling" at the breakdown, with replays showing the No 9 kicking the ball as opposite number Conor Murray was about to pick it up.

The instance itself may not have reached the threshold for a yellow card, but it came after the All Blacks had been penalised for a series of infringements.

The Irish were also unhappy with decisions made by Peyper, as they felt centre Malakai Fekitoa and flank Sam Cane should have received red cards for high tackles.

World Rugby’s judiciary afterwards banned Fekitoa for his high hit on Simon Zebo and banned him for a week, but Cane was exonerated for his tackle which saw Robbie Henshaw leave the field.


Read News24’s Comments Policy

Love 2 Meet
English Premiership flutter

Take Sport24's "expert" tips at your peril...


The 2018/19 Absa Premiership season is in full swing. Will Mamelodi Sundowns retain their title? Or can one of Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates, Wits, SuperSport United - or another team perhaps - snatch glory from the Brazilians? Be sure to visit Sport24 for all the latest news!

Latest blogs

How will the Springboks fare at this year's Rugby World Cup in Japan?

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.