Wallabies overlook Hunt for All Blacks clash

2017-10-19 07:17
Karmichael Hunt (Getty)

Brisbane - Karmichael Hunt was a surprise omission from an experienced Wallabies team named on Thursday to face the All Blacks this weekend in what will be Stephen Moore's last home Test.

One of the stars of Australia's home series in June, Hunt had been recalled to an extended squad after eight weeks on the sidelines for Saturday's game in Brisbane following ankle surgery.

He was widely expected to be on the bench, but coach Michael Cheika opted not to risk him with Samu Kerevi included as cover for the centre positions in the dead rubber match.

Lock Rob Simmons comes in as the only change to the team that beat Argentina 37-20 a fortnight ago, replacing Izack Rodda who underwent season-ending shoulder surgery on Wednesday.

Retiring former captain Moore was named among the reserves for what will be his last Test on Australian soil and his 125th overall - and in front of his home crowd.

The veteran hooker will end his international career after Australia's European tour in November.

The All Blacks have already secured the Bledisloe Cup, winning the first two matches in the three-Test series against Australia, although Brisbane's Suncorp Stadium is traditionally a difficult venue for them.

Of five matches there over the past 11 years, the All Blacks have lost one, drawn one, and won three but never by more than a four-point margin.



15 Israel Folau, 14 Marika Koroibete, 13 Tevita Kuridrani, 12 Kurtley Beale, 11 Reece Hodge, 10 Bernard Foley, 9 Will Genia, 8 Sean McMahon, 7 Michael Hooper (captain), 6 Jack Dempsey, 5 Adam Coleman, 4 Rob Simmons, 3 Sekope Kepu, 2 Tatafu Polota-Nau, 1 Scott Sio

Substitutes: 16 Stephen Moore, 17 Tom Robertson, 18 Allan Alaalatoa, 19 Lukhan Tui, 20 Ned Hanigan, 21 Nick Phipps, 22  Samu Kerevi, 23 Henry Speight

New Zealand

15 Damian McKenzie, 14 Waisake Naholo, 13 Ryan Crotty, 12 Sonny Bill Williams, 11 Rieko Ioane, 10 Lima Sopoaga, 9 Aaron Smith, 8 Kieran Read (captain), 7 Sam Cane, 6 Liam Squire, 5 Scott Barrett, 4 Samuel Whitelock, 3 Nepo Laulala, 2 Dane Coles, 1 Kane Hames

Substitutes: 16 Codie Taylor, 17 Wyatt Crockett, 18 Ofa Tu’ungafasi, 19 Patrick Tuipulotu, 20 Matt Todd, 21 TJ Perenara, 22 Anton Lienert-Brown, 23 David Havili


Read News24’s Comments Policy

Live Video Streaming
Video Highlights
Sport Talk

Love 2 Meet
Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2018/19 Absa Premiership season is in full swing. Will Mamelodi Sundowns retain their title? Or can one of Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates, Wits, SuperSport United - or another team perhaps - snatch glory from the Brazilians? Be sure to visit Sport24 for all the latest news!

Latest blogs

Which of the 4 South African team will finish with the fewest Super Rugby SA Conference points?

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.