Wales name side for final NZ Test

2016-06-23 09:37
Warren Gatland (Gallo Images)

Wellington - Wales coach Warren Gatland has kept faith in most of his side in the hunt for an elusive win against New Zealand, making just two changes for Saturday's third Test in Dunedin.

The switches are in the front row with props Rob Evans and Tomas Francis coming in for Gethin Jenkins, who has returned home with a calf injury, and tighthead Samson Lee who is on the bench.

Wales, who have not beaten the All Blacks in 28 Tests since 1953, have lost the first two in this series, going down 39-21 in Auckland and 36-22 in Wellington while conceding 10 tries to five.

But going into the final Test in Dunedin, Gatland said he still believed Wales could avoid a whitewash.

"We have played some good rugby in the first two Tests and we want to finish the tour on Saturday with an 80 minute performance that we are happy with," Gatland said as he named his line-up.

"We improved going into the second Test and fought to the end, and this weekend we have to have the belief and confidence that we can take the victory."

Playing under the roof in Dunedin, New Zealand's only covered stadium, Gatland said they needed the quick track "to take our game to the All Blacks".

Wales have been reluctant to tinker too much with their frontline selections, also making only two changes for the second Test when Rhys Patchell came in after George North was injured and lock Luke Charteris took over from Bradley Davies.

Apart from the front row shake up, the rest of the Welsh side is unchanged from that second Test in Wellington.

Charteris and Alun Wyn Jones form the second-row and Ross Moriarty, captain Sam Warburton and Taulupe Faletau comprise the loose trio.

In the backs, Rhys Webb, Dan Biggar, Jamie Roberts and Jonathan Davies form the halves and centres for the third successive match with Hallam Amos, Liam Williams and Rhys Patchell making up the back-three.


New Zealand

5 Israel Dagg; 14 Ben Smith, 13 George Moala, 12 Ryan Crotty, 11 Julian Savea; 10 Beauden Barrett, 9 Aaron Smith; 8 Kieran Read (captain), 7 Sam Cane, 6 Elliot Dixon; 5 Brodie Retallick, 4 Sam Whitelock; 3 Charlie Faumuina, 2 Dane Coles, 1 Joe Moody

Substitutes: 16 Codie Taylor, 17 Wyatt Crockett, 18 Ofa Tu'ungafasi, 19 Luke Romano, 20 Liam Squire, 21 Tawera Kerr-Barlow, 22 Lima Sopoaga, 23 Waisake Naholo


15 Rhys Patchell, 14 Liam Williams, 13 Jonathan Davies, 12 Jamie Roberts, 11 Hallam Amos, 10 Dan Biggar, 9 Rhys Webb, 8 Taulupe Faletau, 7 Sam Warburton (captain), 6 Ross Moriarty, 5 Alun Wyn Jones, 4 Luke Charteris, 3 Tomas Francis, 2 Ken Owens, 1 Rob Evans

Substitutes: 16 Scott Baldwin, 17 Aaron Jarvis, 18 Samson Lee, 19 Jake Ball, 20 Ellis Jenkins, 21 Gareth Davies, 22 Rhys Priestland, 23 Scott Williams

Read more on:    new zealand  |  wales  |  warren gatland  |  rugby


Read News24’s Comments Policy

Love 2 Meet
Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2019/20 Absa Premiership season is in full swing. Will Mamelodi Sundowns retain their title? Or can one of Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates, Wits, SuperSport United - or another team perhaps - snatch glory from the Brazilians? Be sure to visit Sport24 for all the latest news!

Latest blogs

Debate rages! Who is the greatest ever Springbok hooker ... John Smit, Bismarck du Plessis or someone else perhaps?

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.