Viljoen part of mass clear-out at Leicester Tigers

2020-05-05 09:49
EW Viljoen (Gallo)

Leicester Tigers head coach Geordan Murphy has confirmed the players who will leave the club when their contracts end at the conclusion of the 2019/20 season.

Front-rowers Tatafu Polota-Nau, Gaston Cortes and Owen Hills and fellow forwards Will Spencer and Sione Kalamafoni will depart, as well as Guy Thompson as announced in April.

Long-serving scrumhalf Sam Harrison departed the club in January after more than a decade in the senior squad and is joined by Adam Thompstone, former Stormers centre EW Viljoen and Joe Thomas as departing backs.

Viljoen has represented South Africa at schoolboy and Under-20s level and made 28 appearances for the Stormers since his debut in 2017.

Viljoen made his Currie Cup debut for the Western Province in 2014 and was selected in the Springboks Under-20s squad for the Junior World Championship the following year, in which he played a starring role on the way to South Africa’s third-place finish in the tournament.

As confirmed in April, England international Jonny May will return to Gloucester after three seasons in Leicester and Jonah Holmes has been released from the final year of his contract to pursue an opportunity in Wales, in a bid to further his international career.

Development squad members Kyran Bungaroo, Sam Eveleigh, Leo Gilliland, Cameron Jordan and Keston Lines will also leave the Tigers.

Sam Costelow will return home to Wales after it was confirmed in March that the flyhalf will join Scarlets next season.

Joe Batley and Rory Hughes, who joined Tigers mid-season on loan agreements will also depart, while Andy Forsyth and Ifereimi Boladau returned to their respective Championship clubs earlier this season.

Read more on:    leicester tigers  |  ew viljoen  |  rugby


Read News24’s Comments Policy

Love 2 Meet
Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2019/20 Absa Premiership season is in full swing. Will Mamelodi Sundowns retain their title? Or can one of Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates, Wits, SuperSport United - or another team perhaps - snatch glory from the Brazilians? Be sure to visit Sport24 for all the latest news!

Latest blogs

Debate rages! Who is the greatest ever Springbok hooker ... John Smit, Bismarck du Plessis or someone else perhaps?

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.