Uncapped duo set to make Wales debuts

2019-08-29 12:53
Warren Gatland (Getty)

Cardiff - Wales have named two uncapped players in their side to face Ireland in Cardiff on Saturday with Rhys Carre and wing Owen Lane set to debut. 

Carre and Lane, who played in the same Wales U18 and U20 sides together, will feature for their country for the first time in a team captained by Josh Navidi.

Carre will pack down in the front-row alongside Scarlets pair Ryan Elias and Samson Lee. Ospreys duo Adam Beard and Bradley Davies form the second-row partnership.

Aaron Shingler and James Davies are named in the back-row alongside captain Navidi.

Jarrod Evans makes his first start for Wales and links up with Aled Davies at halfback. Owen Watkin and Scott Williams line up in the centre with Lane, Steff Evans and Hallam Amos making up the back three.

“It is a great opportunity for Rhys and Owen, they have worked hard all summer to get to this point so it will be good for them to get their first international caps and put their hands up for RWC selection after the match,” said Wales head coach Warren Gatland.

“For Josh, it’s a huge honour to be named captain, he has been hugely consistent for us, he has really impressed in the last couple of seasons and he will lead from the front of Saturday and it is a great compliment for him to be awarded the captaincy.

“Saturday is a really big game for the players and I’m really excited about the challenge for this Welsh team. There is so much at stake in terms of RWC selection with a number of positions still up for grabs it will be huge game.”

Elliot Dee, Rob Evans and Leon Brown provide the front-row cover with Jake Ball and Ross Moriarty completing the forward contingent. Tomos Williams, Rhys Patchell and Jonah Holmes are named as the backline cover.



15 Hallam Amos, 14 Owen Lane, 13 Scott Williams, 12 Owen Watkin, 11 Steff Evans, 10 Jarrod Evans, 9 Aled Davies, 8 Josh Navidi (captain), 7 James Davies, 6 Aaron Shingler, 5 Bradley Davies, 4 Adam Beard, 3 Samson Lee, 2 Ryan Elias, 1 Rhys Carre

Substitutes: 16 Elliot Dee, 17 Rob Evans, 18 Leon Brown, 19 Jake Ball, 20 Ross Moriarty, 21 Tomos Williams, 22 Rhys Patchell, 23 Jonah Holmes



Read more on:    ireland  |  wales  |  rwc 2019  |  rugby


Read News24’s Comments Policy

Love 2 Meet
Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2018/19 Absa Premiership season is in full swing. Will Mamelodi Sundowns retain their title? Or can one of Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates, Wits, SuperSport United - or another team perhaps - snatch glory from the Brazilians? Be sure to visit Sport24 for all the latest news!

Latest blogs

How will the Springboks fare at this year's Rugby World Cup in Japan?

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.