Three South Africans bag World Rugby nominations

2016-11-01 19:52
Seabelo Senatla (Gallo Images)

Cape Town - Three South Africans, including Springbok Sevens try-scoring ace Seabelo Senatla, were on Tuesday nominated for the prestigious World Rugby Awards for 2016.

Senatla is one of three nominees for World Rugby’s Sevens Player of the Year Award, in association with HSBC 2016. It’s his second successive nomination for this honour, which was won by Blitzbok Werner Kok last year.

World Rugby announced on Tuesday that Senatla, who scored 66 tries in the 2015/16 HSBC Sevens Series, was on the shortlist alongside Virimi Vakatawa (France) and Osea Kolinisau (Fiji).

The three players were selected by an independent awards panel which includes a representative from each of the Sevens teams and the television commentators from the Sevens Series. The flying South African was already named top try-scorer for the season by World Rugby when the 2015/16 series concluded in London.

Senatla, who was last week named the Springbok Sevens Player of the Year, will try to emulate Kok and another one of this Springbok Sevens team mates, Cecil Afrika, who was named the best sevens player on the planet in 2011.

Peyper and Rasivhenge are shortlisted for the World Rugby Referee Award along with Jérôme Garcès of France and Spain's Alhambra Nievas.

The World Rugby Awards dinner will be held at the Hilton Metropole in London, on Sunday 13 November where the winner will be announced.

SA Rugby CEO Jurie Roux congratulated the trio on their nominations.

“Our referees have always been highly rated in the world and this proves that it is still the case. Well done to Jaco and Rasta,” said Roux.

“And to see Seabelo’s name amongst the nominees for Sevens Player of the Year is good reward for the Blitzboks as well.

“It is always good to be recognized by your peers and confirms that we are doing something right. Our sevens team has consistently deliver good performances despite their hectic schedule, playing in ten cities around the globe in the space of eight months.

“The team is already getting in shape for the 2016/17 series and we are keen to see them in action in December, when they will play in the HSBC Cape Town Sevens tournament. We believe this nomination inspire all of the guys to again deliver a highly competitive effort in the coming season.”


World Rugby Women's Sevens Player of the Year

Charlotte Caslick (Australia)
Emily Scarratt (England)
Portial Woodman (New Zealand)

World Rugby Sevens Player of the Year

Osea Kolinisau (Fiji)
Seabelo Senatla (South Africa)
Virimi Vakatawa (France)

World Rugby Team of the Year

Fiji Sevens
New Zealand

World Rugby Coach of the Year

Steve Hansen (New Zealand)
Eddie Jones (England)
Ben Ryan (Fiji Sevens)

World Rugby Breakthrough Player of the Year

Maro Itoje (England)
Anton Lienert-Brown (New Zealand)
Ardie Savea (New Zealand)

Try of the Year

Jamie Heaslip (Ireland, v France)
Kaito Shigeno (Japan, v Scotland)
TJ Perenara (New Zealand, v Argentina)

World Rugby Referee Award

Jérôme Garcès (France)
Alhambra Nievas (Spain)
Jaco Peyper (South Africa)
Rasta Rasivhenge (South Africa)

Read more on:    seabelo senatla  |  rugby

What To Read Next


Read News24’s Comments Policy

Live Video Streaming
Video Highlights
Sport Talk

Love 2 Meet
English Premiership flutter

Take Sport24's "expert" tips at your peril...


The 2017/18 Absa Premiership season is under way. Can Bidvest Wits defend their title? Will Soweto giants Kaizer Chiefs or Orlando Pirates emerge victorious? Or will the bookies' favourites, Mamelodi Sundowns, taste success for a record eighth time? Stay glued to Sport24 to find out!

Latest blogs

Who would you like to see start in the No 10 jersey for the Springboks in the first Test against England in June?

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.