Teams confirmed for Heyneke’s schools festival

2017-10-11 12:01
Heyneke Meyer (Gallo Images)

Cape Town - The 20 participants for next year’s inaugural world schools rugby tournament in South Africa have been confirmed.

The World Schools Festival, which is the brainchild of former Springbok coach Heyneke Meyer, will be held at Paarl Boys’ High from April 2-8, 2018.

It will form part of the school’s 150-year anniversary.

According to the School of Rugby website, the 10 South African schools taking part will be the hosts, Paarl Gym, Paul Roos, Grey College, Affies, Monument, Boland Landbou, Outeniqua, Oakdale Landbou and Glenwood.

New Zealand will be represented by Hamilton Boys’ High, Christchurch Boys’ High, Otago Boys’ High and Napier Boys’ High.

There will also be two teams from England - Hartpury College and Millfield School - a combined team from Africa and the Pacific Islands, a French team, a regional team from Mendoza in Argentina and a regional team from either Italy or the USA.

Read more on:    heyneke meyer  |  rugby

What To Read Next


Read News24’s Comments Policy

Live Video Streaming
Video Highlights
Sport Talk

Love 2 Meet
English Premiership flutter

Take Sport24's "expert" tips at your peril...


The 2017/18 Absa Premiership season is under way. Can Bidvest Wits defend their title? Will Soweto giants Kaizer Chiefs or Orlando Pirates emerge victorious? Or will the bookies' favourites, Mamelodi Sundowns, taste success for a record eighth time? Stay glued to Sport24 to find out!

Latest blogs

Who will finish top of the SA Conference in this year's Super Rugby tournament?

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.