Stander wins big at Ireland awards

2016-05-05 14:30
CJ Stander (Getty Images)

Cape Town - Munster and Ireland's CJ Stander has been voted the IRUPA Players' Player of the Year by his fellow peers at the annual awards ceremony.

The South African-born Stander had a superb season for Ireland, making his debut in the opening Six Nations game against Wales where he was named man-of-the-match.

The back-rower and Munster captain continued this rich vein of form for the remainder of the campaign, scoring his first Test try against Italy. His powerful performances did not go unnoticed by supporters either as he was also voted the Supporters' Player of the Year.

"I'm delighted to win this award. Receiving recognition from my fellow peers is the ultimate accolade. I will remember this season fondly, from winning my first cap, to scoring my first international try and ultimately winning this award," Stander told Irish Rugby's website.

Josh van der Flier was named the Nevin Spence Young Player of the Year after impressing all season for Leinster and excelling in his first outing for Ireland against England in the Six Nations.

Zurich IRUPA Players' Player of the Year
Winner: CJ Stander (Munster)
Nominations - Robbie Henshaw (Connacht), CJ Stander (Munster), Jack McGrath (Leinster), Rory Best (Ulster)

Nevin Spence Young Player of the Year
Winner: Josh van der Flier (Leinster)
Nominations - Josh van der Flier (Leinster), Stuart McCloskey (Ulster), Garry Ringrose (Leinster)

Volkswagen Try of the Year
Winner: Jamie Heaslip (Ireland v Italy, RBS 6 Nations)
Nominations - Craig Gilroy (Ulster v Scarlets, Guinness PRO12), Jamie Heaslip (Ireland v Italy, RBS 6 Nations), Matt Healy (Connacht v Grenoble, European Challenge Cup)

Vodafone Medal for Excellence
Winner: Isaac Boss (Leinster)
Nominations - Isaac Boss (Leinster), Ronan Loughney (Connacht), John Muldoon (Connacht)

BNY Mellon IRUPA Hall of Fame
Inducted: Ronan O'Gara (Munster)

Irish Times Supporters' Player of the Year
Winner: CJ Stander (Munster)

Powerscourt Hotel Resort and Spa Moment of the Year
Winner: Connacht's victory over Munster at Thomond Park

BNY Mellon Women's Fifteens Player of the Year
Winner: Sene Naoupu

Women's Sevens Player of the Year
Winner: Amee-Leigh Crowe

Zurich Contribution to Irish Society
Winner: Niall Breslin

Read more on:    ireland  |  munster  |  cj stander  |  rugby


Read News24’s Comments Policy

Love 2 Meet
English Premiership flutter

Take Sport24's "expert" tips at your peril...

Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2018/19 Absa Premiership season is in full swing. Will Mamelodi Sundowns retain their title? Or can one of Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates, Wits, SuperSport United - or another team perhaps - snatch glory from the Brazilians? Be sure to visit Sport24 for all the latest news!

Latest blogs

Who should walk away the winner in the Team of the Year category at the 2020 Laureus World Sports Awards?

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.