Sonny Bill set for 50th Test in Tokyo

2018-10-25 14:30
Sonny Bill Williams (Getty)

Tokyo - All Blacksinside centre Sonny Bill Williams will play in his 50th Test when they face Australia in Saturday’s Bledisloe Cup clash in Yokohama.

Williams, who made his debut against England at Twickenham in November 2010, starts in a matchday squad which also features the return of several key players from injury. Joe Moody returns from his thumb injury and back into the number one jersey, while fellow prop Nepo Laulala is also back, named in the run on reserves.

Liam Squire returns to the number six jersey while Brodie Retallick will make his return via the bench.

In other changes from the last Test side, TJ Perenara will start at scrumhalf with Aaron Smith providing impact from the bench.

Ben Smith moves to the right wing to make way for Damian McKenzie at fullback. Matt Todd provides loose forward cover from the bench.

All Blacks head coach Steve Hansen is looking forward to the Test and welcomed the return of several star players.

“It’s great to have Joe, Nepo, Liam and Brodie, as well as Matt Todd, back. As well as being world-class rugby players, they also add a lot of experience to the team, both on and off the track. We look forward to seeing them play again.

“The Test match will provide us with another great opportunity to put into practise what we have learnt throughout our recent Tests in the Rugby Championship, and grow our game in the first Test of what will be an exciting northern tour.

“We’re also excited to be playing the first of our two Tests here in Japan. The Japanese people have been fantastic hosts and the team has enjoyed the cultural aspects of our time here.

“We look forward to seeing them on Saturday and hopefully having their support.”

Kick-off is at 08:00 SA time.


New Zealand

15 Damian McKenzie, 14 Ben Smith, 13 Ryan Crotty, 12 Sonny Bill Williams, 11 Rieko Ioane, 10 Beauden Barrett, 9 TJ Perenara, 8 Kieran Read (captain), 7 Ardie Savea, 6 Liam Squire, 5 Scott Barrett, 4 Sam Whitelock, 3 Owen Franks, 2 Codie Taylor, 1 Joe Moody

Substitutes: 16 Nathan Harris, 17 Karl Tu'inukuafe, 18 Nepo Laulala, 19 Brodie Retallick, 20 Matt Todd, 21 Aaron Smith, 22 Richie Mo'unga, 23 Anton Lienert-Brown


15 Dane Haylett-Petty, 14 Sefa Naivalu, 13 Israel Folau, 12 Kurtley Beale, 11 Marika Koroibete, 10 Bernard Foley, 9 Will Genia, 8 David Pocock, 7 Michael Hooper (captain), 6 Ned Hanigan, 5 Rob Simmons, 4 Izack Rodda, 3 Allan Alaalatoa, 2 Folau Faingaa, 1 Scott Sio

Substitutes (one to be omitted): 16 Tolu Latu, 17 Sekope Kepu,18  Taniela Tupou, 19 Rory Arnold, 20 Jack Dempsey, 21 Pete Samu, 22 Nick Phipps, 23 Samu Kerevi, 24 Tom Banks


Read News24’s Comments Policy

Love 2 Meet
Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2019/20 Absa Premiership season is in full swing. Will Mamelodi Sundowns retain their title? Or can one of Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates, Wits, SuperSport United - or another team perhaps - snatch glory from the Brazilians? Be sure to visit Sport24 for all the latest news!

Latest blogs

After 6 weeks of Super Rugby action, which South African team appears most likely to challenge for overall honours?

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.