Schmidt revamps Irish team for USA Test

2018-11-23 07:26
Garry Ringrose (Getty)

Dublin - Garry Ringrose is the only starter from Ireland's epic victory over world champions New Zealand to be included in the starting XV for Saturday's one-off Test with the United States.

The 23-year-old centre returned to the starting line-up for the 16-9 win over the All Blacks after missing the Argentina game with a head injury.

As expected, coach Joe Schmidt has rung the changes for the final Test of their November series with a fresh half-back partnership of Joey Carbery and John Cooney filling the flyhalf and scrumhalf posts respectively.

Flanker Josh van der Flier, who started against the All Blacks, is on the replacements bench as is prop Cian Healy.

The likes of star flyhalf Johnny Sexton and captain Rory Best are rested completely with Rhys Ruddock taking the captain's armband instead.

Ireland will seek to extend their record home Test winning run to 12 - they have won 17 of their last 18 Tests in all - against the Americans.



15 Will Addison, 14 Andrew Conway, 13 Garry Ringrose, 12 Stuart McCloskey, 11 Darren Sweetnam, 10 Joey Carbery, 9 John Cooney, 8 Jack Conan, 7 Jordi Murphy, 6 Rhys Ruddock (captain), 5 Iain Henderson, 4 Tadhg Beirne, 3 Finlay Bealham, 2 Niall Scannell, 1 Dave Kilcoyne

Substitues: 16 Rob Herring, 17 Cian Healy, 18 John Ryan, 19 Quinn Roux, 20 Josh van der Flier, 21 Luke McGrath, 22 Ross Byrne, 23 Sam Arnold


15 Will Hooley, 14 Blaine Scully (captain), 13 Bryce Campbell, 12 Paul Lasike, 11 Marcel Brache, 10 Will Magie, 9 Shaun Davies, 8 Cam Dolan, 7 Hanco Germishuys, 6 John Quill, 5 Nick Civetta, 4 Greg Peterson, 3 Paul Mullen, 2 Joe Taufete’e, 1 Titi Lamositele

Substitues: 16 Dylan Fawsitt, 17 Chance Wenglewski, 18 Dino Waldren, 19 Samu Manoa, 20 David Tameilau, 21 Ruben de Haas, 22 Gannon Moore, 23 Ryan Matyas

Read more on:    ireland  |  usa  |  rugby


Read News24’s Comments Policy

Love 2 Meet
Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2018/19 Absa Premiership season is in full swing. Will Mamelodi Sundowns retain their title? Or can one of Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates, Wits, SuperSport United - or another team perhaps - snatch glory from the Brazilians? Be sure to visit Sport24 for all the latest news!

Latest blogs

Who should walk away the winner in the Team of the Year category at the 2020 Laureus World Sports Awards?

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.