Savea named best All Black of 2019

2019-12-12 14:22
Ardie Savea
Ardie Savea (Getty Images)

Cape Town - Ardie Savea collected three awards at New Zealand Rugby's annual awards event in Auckland on Thursday.

Register your interest for the British & Irish Lions tickets in South Africa 2021

Savea, who underwent knee surgery on Thursday and was not able to attend the ceremony, was named the Super Rugby Player of the Year, the All Blacks Player of the Year (a new award), before being crowned as the Player of the Year.
Savea reached a new level of play in 2019, starting eight of the All Blacks 10 Test matches, and he showed strength and versatility across the back row.

Three-peat Crusaders coach Scott Robertson won his first National Coach of the Year Award, while the 10-time champions won a consecutive National Team of the Year award.

New Zealand Rugby Award Winners 2019

New Zealand Rugby Referee of the Year

Winner: Paul Williams
•    Rebecca Mahoney (Wairarapa Bush)
•    Ben O’Keeffe (Wellington)

Charles Monro Rugby Volunteer of the Year

Winner: Ian Spraggon (Bay of Plenty)
•    Sue Mitchell (Taranaki)
•    Kevin Pulley (Wellington)

New Zealand Rugby Age Grade Player of the Year

Winner: Fletcher Newell (Canterbury)

•    Zach Gallagher (Canterbury)
•    Tupou Vaa’i (Taranaki)

Mitre 10 Heartland Championship Player of the Year

Winner: Josh Clark (North Otago)
•    Campbell Hart (Whanganui)
•    Robbie Smith (North Otago)

Duane Monkley Medal

Winner: Chase Tiatia (Bay of Plenty)
•    Gareth Evans (Hawke’s Bay)
•    Salesi Rayasi (Auckland)
•    Fletcher Smith (Waikato)

Fiao’o Faamausili Medal

Winner: Chelsea Bremner (Canterbury Women)
•    Ayesha Leti-I’iga (Wellington)
•    Patricia Maliepo (Auckland)

National Coach of the Year

Winner: Scott Robertson (Crusaders)
•    Andrew Goodman (Tasman, Crusaders) and Clarke Dermody (Tasman)
•    Kieran Kite (Canterbury)

New Zealand Coach of the Year

Winner: Cory Sweeney and Allan Bunting (Black Ferns Sevens)
•    Steve Hansen (All Blacks)
•    Glenn Moore (Black Ferns)

Super Rugby Player of the Year

Winner: Ardie Savea (Hurricanes)
•    Scott Barrett (Crusaders)
•    Brad Weber (Chiefs)

Tom French Memorial Maori Player of the Year

Winner: Sarah Hirini (Ngati Kahungunu)
•    Ash Dixon (Ngati Tahinga)
•    TJ Perenara (Te Arawa / Ngati Rangitihi)

Richard Crawshaw Memorial All Blacks Sevens Player of the Year

Winner: Tone Ng Shiu (Tasman)
•    Dylan Collier (Waikato)
•    Andrew Knewstubb (Horowhenua Kapiti)

Black Ferns Sevens Player of the Year

Winner: Tyla Nathan-Wong (Auckland)
•    Kelly Brazier (Bay of Plenty)
•    Sarah Hirini (Manawatu)

Black Ferns Player of the Year

Winner: Charmaine McMenamin (Auckland)
•    Kendra Cocksedge (Canterbury)
•    Ayesha Leti-I’iga (Wellington)

All Blacks Player of the Year

Winner: Ardie Savea (Hurricanes)
•    Beauden Barrett (Hurricanes)
•    Anton Lienert-Brown (Chiefs)

National Team of the Year

Winner: Crusaders
•    Canterbury Women
•    Tasman Mako

New Zealand Team of the Year

Winner: Black Ferns Sevens
•    All Blacks
•    Black Ferns

NZRPA Kirk Award

Winners: Josh Blackie, Seilala Mapusua & Hale T-Pole

Steinlager Salver for an Outstanding Contribution to New Zealand Rugby
Steve Tew

Kelvin R Tremain Memorial Player of the Year
Ardie Savea

Sky Television Fan’s Try of the Year

TJ Perenara

Previous Kelvin R Tremain award winners (last 10 years):

2018   Kendra Cocksedge

2017   Samuel Whitelock

2016   Beauden Barrett

2015   Ma’a Nonu

2014   Brodie Retallick

2013   Kieran Read

2012   Richie McCaw

2011   Jerome Kaino

2010   Kieran Read

2009   Richie McCaw

2008   Andrew Hore

Read more on:    all blacks  |  scott robertson  |  ardie savea  |  rugby


Read News24’s Comments Policy

Love 2 Meet
English Premiership flutter

Take Sport24's "expert" tips at your peril...

Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2018/19 Absa Premiership season is in full swing. Will Mamelodi Sundowns retain their title? Or can one of Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates, Wits, SuperSport United - or another team perhaps - snatch glory from the Brazilians? Be sure to visit Sport24 for all the latest news!

Latest blogs

Who should walk away the winner in the Team of the Year category at the 2020 Laureus World Sports Awards?

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.