Ruan Ackermann joins up with the BaaBaas

2017-10-30 20:40
Barbarians logo (File)

Cape Town - All Blacks Ben Franks (London Irish) and Steven Luatua (Bristol) are named in a 26-strong Barbarians squad for the Killik Cup match against New Zealand at Twickenham and Tonga at Thomond Park.

They are among 13 New Zealanders in Head Coach Robbie Deans’s group, already including World Cup winning wing Julian Savea and scrumhalf Andy Ellis.

A third UK-based player, Gloucester flanker Ruan Ackermann, joins up after yesterday's dramatic 22-21 derby win over Bath.

The squad also includes two of the Barbarians side beaten 31-28 by Australia in Sydney last Saturday. 

Giant wing Taqele Naiyaravoro scored two tries against the Wallabies with Sam Carter outstanding the second row.

The South African contingent includes former Springboks captain Adriaan Strauss and Stormers flyhalf Robert du Preez, who led Western Province to last weekend's Currie Cup final victory over the Sharks.



Ruan Ackermann (Gloucester)
Dominic Bird (Chiefs & New Zealand)
Willie Britz (Sunwolves)
Sam Carter (Brumbies & Australia)
Simone Favaro (Fiamme Oro)
Ben Franks (London Irish & New Zealand)
Dillon Hunt (Highlanders)
Steven Luatua (Bristol & New Zealand)

Atu Moli (Chiefs)

Kwagga Smith (Lions)
Ruan Smith (Toyota Verblitz)
Adriaan Strauss (Bulls & South Africa)
Akker van der Merwe (Sharks)
Jacques van Rooyen (Lions)

Luke Whitelock (Highlanders & New Zealand)


Vince Aso (Hurricanes)
George Bridge (Crusaders)
Richard Buckman (Highlanders)
Mitchell Drummond (Crusaders)
Robert du Preez (Stormers)
Andy Ellis (Kobelco Steelers & New Zealand)
Richie Mo’unga (Crusaders)
Taqele Naiyaravoro (Waratahs & Australia)
Julian Savea (Hurricanes & New Zealand)
Nic Stirzaker (Rebels)
Harold Vorster (Lions)

Read more on:    barbarians  |  rugby


Read News24’s Comments Policy

Live Video Streaming
Video Highlights

Love 2 Meet
English Premiership flutter

Take Sport24's "expert" tips at your peril...

Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2018/19 Absa Premiership season is in full swing. Will Mamelodi Sundowns retain their title? Or can one of Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates, Wits, SuperSport United - or another team perhaps - snatch glory from the Brazilians? Be sure to visit Sport24 for all the latest news!

Latest blogs

Which of the 4 South African team will finish with the fewest Super Rugby SA Conference points?

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.