Rassie scoops coach of the season award

2017-05-08 11:51
Rassie Erasmus (Getty Images)

Cape Town - Rassie Erasmus was named PRO12 coach of the year at the competition’s annual awards ceremony in Dublin on Sunday night.

Erasmus’ team, Munster, were the big winners on the night, with six of their players named to in the PRO12 Dream Team after finishing on top of the regular season standings.

Another South African, Ulster scrumhalf Ruan Pienaar, claimed the try of the season award.

Pienaar, who has finished his tenure at Ulster, was also included in the PRO12 Dream Team, alongside countryman Jaco Taute, who plays for Munster.

The PRO12 is an annual competition involving 12 professional sides from Ireland, Italy, Scotland and Wales.

List of award winners:

Fair Play Award - Connacht
Top Try-Scorer - Steff Evans (Scarlets)
Golden Boot - Sam Davies (Ospreys)
Young Player of the Season - Joey Carbery (Leinster)
Try of the Season - Ruan Pienaar (Ulster)
Dream Team Captain - Ken Owens (Scarlets)
PRO12 Coach of the Season - Rassie Erasmus (Munster)
Players’ Player of the Season - Charles Piutau (Ulster)
PRO12 Chairman’s Award - Nigel Owens MBE

PRO12 Dream Team 2016/17:

15 Tiernan O’Halloran (Connacht), 14 Tommy Seymour (Glasgow Warriors), 13 Jaco Taute (Munster), 12 Rory Scannell (Munster), 11 Charles Piutau (Ulster), 10 Tyler Bleyendaal (Munster), 9 Ruan Pienaar (Ulster), 8 Jack Conan (Leinster), 7 James Davies (Scarlets), 6 Dan Leavy (Leinster), 5 Billy Holland (Munster), 4 Ben Toolis (Edinburgh), 3 John Ryan (Munster), 2 Ken Owens, captain (Scarlets), 1 Dave Kilcoyne (Munster)

Read more on:    munster  |  jaco taute  |  rassie erasmus  |  ruan pienaar  |  rugby

What To Read Next


Read News24’s Comments Policy

Live Video Streaming
Video Highlights
Sport Talk

Love 2 Meet
Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2017/18 Absa Premiership season is under way. Can Bidvest Wits defend their title? Will Soweto giants Kaizer Chiefs or Orlando Pirates emerge victorious? Or will the bookies' favourites, Mamelodi Sundowns, taste success for a record eighth time? Stay glued to Sport24 to find out!

Latest blogs

Who will finish top of the SA Conference in this year's Super Rugby tournament?

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.