Pocock wins Australia's top rugby union award

2018-10-19 13:21
David Pocock (Gallo Images)

Sydney - Influential flanker David Pocock capped his return from a sabbatical by being named Australian rugby union's best player by his peers on Friday, taking out the 2018 John Eales Medal.

The Wallabies talisman, with 262 votes, easily outpolled his nearest challengers - Lukhan Tui (139) and Dane Haylett-Petty (132).

Pocock, who returned for the Ireland series in June after taking a year out to perform charity and educational work, earned the gong for a second time after also winning in 2010.

He joins George Smith, Nathan Sharpe and Michael Hooper as two-time winners, with fullback Israel Folau the only player to win it three times.

The popular Pocock was also voted the fans' choice for Wallaby of the year.

In other awards, the Queensland Reds' Taniela Tupou, known as "Tongan Thor", was named Australian Super Rugby player of the year. He also took the rookie of the year accolade.

Read more on:    wallabies  |  david pocock  |  rugby


Read News24’s Comments Policy

Love 2 Meet
Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2019/20 Absa Premiership season is in full swing. Will Mamelodi Sundowns retain their title? Or can one of Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates, Wits, SuperSport United - or another team perhaps - snatch glory from the Brazilians? Be sure to visit Sport24 for all the latest news!

Latest blogs

After 6 weeks of Super Rugby action, which South African team appears most likely to challenge for overall honours?

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.