New era dawns for Boland Rugby

2016-01-21 14:01
Boland Cavaliers (File)

Cape Town - A new era has dawned for the Boland Rugby Union (BRU), after the announcement of the Boland Cavaliers Currie Cup squad and coaching staff for the 2016 season.

The announcements were made at Rugby Performance Centre in Riebeek West on Wednesday, with BRU president Ivan Pekeur, BRU director of rugby Alan Zondagh and Boland Cavaliers head coach Brent Janse van Rensburg in attendance.

The Rugby Performance Centre, a state of the art high performance facility that was started by Zondagh in 2005, will serve as the primary training headquarters of the Boland Rugby Union and the Boland Cavaliers for the next three years.

The RPC will also be the new home of the Boland Rugby Institute (formerly the BRU SARU Academy), as well as a training facility for various Boland Rugby development programmes including, coaching clinics, workshops and rugby camps.

Pekeur feels Boland Rugby is entering exciting times.

“In partnering with the Rugby Performance Centre and by appointing Alan Zondagh as Boland’s new director of rugby, I don’t think we could have asked for a better start to 2016. The facilities in Riebeek West are world class and the quality of our new coaching staff makes me very excited for the season that lies ahead,” said Pekeur.

According to Zondagh, the purpose of the RPC was to create a professional, disciplined and scientific institution to prepare young talented rugby players for the professional game.

“Mr Pekeur’s vision was for Boland Rugby to make a fresh start in 2016, which is why the decision was made to use the RPC as the headquarters and primary training facility for coaches and players of Boland Rugby’s professional team, all provincial amateur teams, clubs, schools, as well as development programmes.

“The RPC campus possesses all the facilities in order to offer a professional and scientific service to the Boland Rugby Union.”

Newly appointed head coach of the Boland Cavaliers, Brent Janse van Rensburg, also commented:

“Our immediate focus with the senior team has been firstly to ensure that the operational infrastructure is developed and aligned for the attainment of optimal efficiency, secondly for cultural development and lastly, the initiation of our athletic development programme together with the necessary supplementing medical support.

“The revival of Boland rugby will be undertaken with a phased approach in mind and certainly is a process that will need to be seen through from start to finish. A lot of work lies ahead, but I am confident that if we remain steadfast in seeing the process through, that over time, a difference can be made to get Boland back to winning ways.

“I look forward to the challenge, connecting with our community as time progresses and I feel privileged to be able to contribute to Boland Rugby.”

Janse van Rensburg will be assisted by the following coaches this season:

Henley du Plessis (forwards coach)

Randall Modiba (defence coach)

South Steenkamp (technical and attack coach)

Nico de Villiers (strength and conditioning coach)

Jacques du Toit (biokineticist)

While retaining the services of a few seasoned campaigners such as Danwel Demas, Hanno Kitshoff and Marnus Hugo, as well as investing in players who were products of Boland Rugby’s Club Rugby and Academy structures in recent years (including Jovelian de Koker, Chaney Willemse, Chadley Wenn and Keenan Cronje, among others), Boland Rugby managed to select a promising squad for the 2016 Currie Cup season.

New signings such as Theuns Kotze (Namibian international), Shaun Adendorf (former SA Under-20 player) and Shaun McDonald (former Griquas and EP Kings player) will add some valuable experience to the team this season.

Boland Cavaliers Currie Cup Squad 2016:



Sergio Torrens, Nico Scheepers 


Tyrone Fortuin; Danwell Demas; Wesley Pindele; Charlie Mayeza; Gerhard van Wyk


Robbie Louw; Edwin Sass; Christopher Bosch


Theuns Kotze; Adriaan Carelse


Jovelian de Koker; Marnus Hugo; Gerhard Jordaan


Loose Forwards

Wayne Wilschut; Ludio Williams; Shaun McDonald; Chaney Willemse; Ferdi Horn; Gareth Cilliers; Shaun Adendorff; Keenan Cronje


Yves Bashiya; Johannes Kitshoff; Ockert van Zyl


Clemen Lewis; Chadley Wenn; Arno van Wyk; JC Genade


Basil Short; Linda Thwala; Enoch Mnyaka; SP Wessels


Ryan Nell (Centre); Craig Pheiffer (Wing); Josh Pinn (Centre / Fullback), Myles Tucker (Lock).

Read more on:    boland  |  brent janse van rensburg  |  rugby


Read News24’s Comments Policy

Love 2 Meet
Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2019/20 Absa Premiership season is in full swing. Will Mamelodi Sundowns retain their title? Or can one of Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates, Wits, SuperSport United - or another team perhaps - snatch glory from the Brazilians? Be sure to visit Sport24 for all the latest news!

Latest blogs

After 6 weeks of Super Rugby action, which South African team appears most likely to challenge for overall honours?

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.