Moore starts against Scotland in last Test

2017-11-23 17:38
Stephen Moore (Getty)

Edinburgh - Australia's Stephen Moore will start the 129th and final Test of his impressive career after being named as the Wallabies' first-choice hooker by coach Michael Cheika for the tour finale against Scotland at Murrayfield on Saturday.

Moore, who earlier this week confirmed he would be retiring from all rugby union after this weekend's match in Edinburgh, came off the bench during last weekend's 30-6 defeat by England at Twickenham.

But he has now changed places with Tatafu Polota-Nau for the final Test of the 34-year-old Queensland front-row forward's career.

At the other end of the experience spectrum, 21-year-old Taniela Tupou will be making his Test debut.

The tighthead prop, nicknamed 'the Tongan Thor', gets his chance after completing a three-year residency requirement.

Meanwhile, fellow Queenslander Lukhan Tui is back on the bench after suffering a hamstring strain against the Barbarians a month ago.

The most recent meeting between Scotland and Australia saw the Scots win 29-14 in Sydney in June, arguably their most impressive victory since Gregor Townsend took over as coach following the end of the 2016/17 European season.

The last six Scotland-Australia games have witnessed three wins apiece, with just seven points splitting the sides in their last three meetings.

Meanwhile, Cheika is still waiting on the outcome of a disciplinary probe after television cameras appeared to catch him swearing in frustration at a decision by referee Ben O'Keeffe during last week's record 24-point defeat by England.

Scotland, who came agonisingly close to a first win over world champions New Zealand before losing 22-17 at Murrayfield last weekend, named their side on Wednesday.

Kick-off on Saturday is at 16:30 SA time.



15 Stuart Hogg, 14 Tommy Seymour, 13 Huw Jones, 12 Alex Dunbar, 11 Sean Maitland, 10 Finn Russell, 9 Ali Price, 8 Ryan Wilson, 7 Hamish Watson, 6 John Barclay (c), 5 Jonny Gray, 4 Grant Gilchrist, 3 Simon Berghan, 2 Stuart McInally, 1 Darryl Marfo

Substitutes: 16 Fraser Brown, 17 Jamie Bhatti, 18 Zander Fagerson, 19 Ben Toolis, 20 Cornell du Preez, 21 Henry Pyrgos, 22 Pete Horne, 23 Byron McGuigan


15 Kurtley Beale; 14 Marika Koroibete, 13 Tevita Kuridrani, 12 Samu Kerevi, 11 Reece Hodge; 10 Bernard Foley, 9 Will Genia; 8 Sean McMahon, 7 Michael Hooper (captain), 6 Ben McCalman; 5 Blake Enever, 4 Rob Simmons; 3 Sekope Kepu, 2 Stephen Moore, 1 Scott Sio

Substitutes: 16 Tatafu Polota-Nau, 17 Tetera Faulkner, 18 Taniela Tupou, 19 Lukhan Tui, 20 Lopeti Timani, 21 Nick Phipps, 22 Karmichael Hunt, 23 Henry Speight

Read more on:    wallabies  |  stephen moore  |  rugby


Read News24’s Comments Policy

Live Video Streaming
Video Highlights
Sport Talk
Breaking News

Love 2 Meet
English Premiership flutter

Take Sport24's "expert" tips at your peril...


The 2018/19 Absa Premiership season is in full swing. Will Mamelodi Sundowns retain their title? Or can one of Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates, Wits, SuperSport United - or another team perhaps - snatch glory from the Brazilians? Be sure to visit Sport24 for all the latest news!

Latest blogs

Which of the 4 South African team will finish with the fewest Super Rugby SA Conference points?

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.