Maori All Blacks put 50 past Canada

2017-11-04 09:41
Maori All Blacks (File)

Cape Town - The Maori All Blacks made a superb start to their end-of-year campaign when they claimed a 51-9 victory over Canada in Vancouver on Friday.

The visitors were full value for their win and outscored their hosts seven tries to none with Ihaia West contributing 14 points courtesy of four conversions and two penalties.

West put the Maori All Blacks in front when he landed a penalty in the third minute but Canada drew level when Brock Staller added a three-pointer off the kicking tee two minutes later.

Canada took a 6-3 lead in the 15th minute courtesy of another Staller penalty, after Dan Pryor was blown up for a dangerous tackle which also resulted in him spending the next 10 minutes in the sin bin.

Despite their numerical disadvantage, the Maori All Blacks took the lead shortly afterwards - Ambrose Curtis crossing for the opening try after Charlie Ngatai, Brad Weber and Rob Thompson did well in the build-up.

West added the extras but midway through the half Staller slotted another penalty which meant the Maori All Blacks held a slender 10-9 lead after 20 minutes.

The rest of the half saw Akira Ioane and Tom Franklin scoring converted tries and West also kicked a penalty in the 34th minute which meant the visitors led 27-9 at half-time.

The Maori All Blacks continued to dominate in the second half although they were dealt a blow shortly after the restart when Tim Bateman also received a yellow card for a high tackle.

Despite that setback, Ngatai crossed for their fourth try in the 52nd minute before Canada lock Josh Larsen was also sin-binned for a dangerous challenge on Weber on the hour-mark.

The rest of the match was a one-sided affair and the Maori All Blacks sealed their win in the game's latter stages thanks to well-taken tries from Shaun Stevenson, Jackson Garden-Bachop and Sean Wainui.


Penalties: Staller 3
Yellow Card: Larsen

Maori All Blacks:
Tries: Curtis, Ioane, Franklin, Ngatai, Stevenson, Garden-Bachop, Wainui
Conversions: West 4, Garden-Bachop
Penalties: West 2
Yellow Cards: Pryor, Bateman


15 Andrew Coe, 14 Brock Staller, 13 Ben LeSage, 12 Guiseppe du Toit, 11 Dan Moor, 10 Patrick Parfrey, 9 Phil Mack (captain), 8 Tyler Ardron, 7 Matt Heaton, 6 Dustin Dobravsky, 5 Josh Larsen, 4 Kyle Baillie, 3 Matt Tierney, 2 Ray Barkwill, 1 Hubert Buydens

Substitutes: 16 Eric Howard, 17 Djustice Sears-Duru, 18 Ryan Kotlewski, 19 Lucas Rumball, 20 Evan Olmstead, 21 Andrew Ferguson, 22 Robbie Povey, 23 Kainoa Lloyd

Maori All Blacks

15 Charlie Ngatai, 14 Sean Wainui, 13 Tim Bateman, 12 Rob Thompson, 11 Ambrose Curtis, 10 Ihaia West, 9 Brad Weber, 8 Akira Ioane, 7 Dan Pryor, 6 Tom Franklin, 5 Jarrad Hoeata, 4 Jackson Hemopo, 3 Marcel Renata, 2 Ash Dixon (captain), 1 Chris Eves

Substitutes: 16 Liam Polwart, 17 Ross Wright, 18 Tyrel Lomax, 19 Jordan Manihere, 20 Sam Henwood, 21 Te Toiroa Tahuriorangi, 22 Jackson Garden-Bachop, 23 Shaun Stevenson

Read more on:    maori all blacks  |  rugby


Read News24’s Comments Policy

Live Video Streaming
Video Highlights

Love 2 Meet
Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2018/19 Absa Premiership season is in full swing. Will Mamelodi Sundowns retain their title? Or can one of Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates, Wits, SuperSport United - or another team perhaps - snatch glory from the Brazilians? Be sure to visit Sport24 for all the latest news!

Latest blogs

Which of the 4 South African team will finish with the fewest Super Rugby SA Conference points?

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.