Kriel wins big at Lions awards

2015-12-02 06:49
Jaco Kriel (Gallo Images)

Cape Town - Loose forward Jaco Kriel was the big winner at the Golden Lions’ annual awards ceremony.

Kriel walked away with more than one accolade at the union's year-end function held at a gala event at Carnival City on Tuesday evening.

Kriel was crowned Lions Player of the Year, Players’ Player of the Year and the Supporters' Player of the Year.

Kriel had an impressive season, leading the unbeaten Golden Lions to Currie Cup victory in 2015.

Meanwhile, Warren Whiteley was named Super Rugby forward Player of the Year and Ruan Combrinck the Super Rugby Back of the Year.

Full list of winners:

Women’s Rugby

Women’s Forward of the Year - Luyanda Koi

Women’s Backline Player of the Year - Refilwe Ramahlo


GLRU Referee of the Year - Lesego Legoete

GLRU Women’s Referee of the Year - Ashleigh Murray

Fittest Referee of the Year - Zandre Janse Van Rensburg

Highest Exam Marks - Richard Schwulst and Hermanus Schwulst

Player Awards

GLRU Under-19 Forward Player of the Year - Juandre Michau

GLRU Under-19 Backline Player of the Year - Hendrik Mulder

GLRU Under-19 Player of the Year - James Venter

GLRU Under-21 forward player of the year - Ramone Samuels

GLRU Under-21 Backline Player of the Year - Rohan Janse van Rensburg

GLRU Under-21 Player of the Year - Bobby De Wee

Super Rugby Forward Player of the year - Warren Whiteley

Super Rugby Backline Player of the Year - Ruan Combrinck

GLRU Forward Player of the Year - Franco Mostert

GLRU Backline Player of the Year - Ross Cronje

GLRU Most Improved player of the Year - Lourens Erasmus

GLRU Players’ Player of the Year - Jaco Kriel

GLRU Supporters' Player of the Year - Jaco Kriel

GLRU Player of the Year - Jaco Kriel

Jaco Kriel and Lions coach Johan Ackermann (Picture: Wessel Oosthuizen)


Read News24’s Comments Policy

Love 2 Meet
English Premiership flutter

Take Sport24's "expert" tips at your peril...

Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2018/19 Absa Premiership season is in full swing. Will Mamelodi Sundowns retain their title? Or can one of Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates, Wits, SuperSport United - or another team perhaps - snatch glory from the Brazilians? Be sure to visit Sport24 for all the latest news!

Latest blogs

Who should walk away the winner in the Team of the Year category at the 2020 Laureus World Sports Awards?

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.