Gatland changes 2 for All Blacks clash

2016-06-16 08:18
Warren Gatland (Gallo Images)

Wellington - Coach Warren Gatland has made two changes to his Test team to play New Zealand in their second encounter on Saturday as Wales look to bounce back from a humiliating midweek loss to the Chiefs.

Rhys Patchell has been drafted in at fullback, allowing Liam Williams to switch to the right wing and replace the injured George North, a standout player in Wales' 39-21 first Test loss in Auckland.

The other change announced on Thursday sees Luke Charteris, a 66-Test veteran lock who captained Wales to their 40-7 defeat against the Chiefs on Tuesday, starting alongside Alun Wyn Jones in the second row, meaning Bradley Davies drops to the bench.

Gethin Jenkins, Ken Owens and Samson Lee make up the front row with Ross Moriarty, Sam Warburton and Taulupe Faletau completing an unchanged back-row.

Hallam Amos completes the back-three alongside Williams and Patchell while Jamie Roberts and Jonathan Davies continue in the midfield with Rhys Webb and Dan Biggar at half-back.

"It is important we go out on Saturday with the confidence to play for 80 minutes in what will be another huge Test match," said Gatland.

"We kept the ball and played well for periods of the first Test and we need to convert that to the full 80.

"It will be another huge occasion, in a packed out stadium in Wellington and we are determined to build on our first Test performance."

The odds are heavily stacked against Wales, who have not defeated the All Blacks since 1953 and have never beaten them in New Zealand.


New Zealand

15 Israel Dagg; 14 Ben Smith, 13 Malakai Fekitoa, 12 Ryan Crotty, 11 Waisake Naholo; 10 Aaron Cruden, 9 Aaron Smith; 8 Kieran Read (captain), 7 Sam Cane, 6 Jerome Kaino; 5 Brodie Retallick, 4 Sam Whitelock; 3 Owen Franks, 2 Dane Coles, 1 Joe Moody

Substitutes: 16 Nathan Harris, 17 Wyatt Crockett, 18 Charlie Faumuina, 19 Patrick Tuipulotu, 20 Ardie Savea, 21 TJ Perenara, 22 Beauden Barrett, 23 Seta Tamanivalu


15 Rhys Patchell, 14 Liam Williams, 13 Jonathan Davies, 12 Jamie Roberts, 11 Hallam Amos, 10 Dan Biggar, 9 Rhys Webb, 8 Taulupe Faletau, 7 Sam Warburton (captain), 6 Ross Moriarty, 5 Alun Wyn Jones, 4 Luke Charteris, 3 Samson Lee, 2 Ken Owens, 1 Gethin Jenkins

Substitutes: 16 Scott Baldwin, 17 Rob Evans, 18 Tomas Francis, 19 Bradley Davies, 20 Ellis Jenkins, 21 Gareth Davies, 22 Rhys Priestland, 23 Scott Williams

Read more on:    all blacks  |  wales  |  warren gatland  |  rugby


Read News24’s Comments Policy

Love 2 Meet
Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2019/20 Absa Premiership season is in full swing. Will Mamelodi Sundowns retain their title? Or can one of Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates, Wits, SuperSport United - or another team perhaps - snatch glory from the Brazilians? Be sure to visit Sport24 for all the latest news!

Latest blogs

Debate rages! Who is the greatest ever Springbok hooker ... John Smit, Bismarck du Plessis or someone else perhaps?

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.