France name side for final Bok Test

2017-06-22 10:58
Guy Noves (Getty)

Johannesburg - France have made three changes for the dead-rubber final Test against South African in Johannesburg on Saturday, including recalling flyhalf Jules Plisson.

The Springboks took an unassailable 2-0 lead in the series last weekend.

Dropped after the first Test loss, Plisson replaces Francois Trinh-Duc and partners retained scrumhalf Baptiste Serin.

Plisson and Serin have started together only once - in a 30-19 loss away to Argentina last year.

"Why this change? Why not. We saw a little bit of everyone, some more than others, and we think it is the right change at the moment," coach Guy Noves said.

Another change sees Brice Dulin, axed after the 37-14 first Test defeat in Pretoria, return at fullback in place of South Africa-born Scott Spedding.

Completing the changes to the starting side is the inclusion of Nans Ducuing on the right wing.

He takes over from Yoann Huget, who suffered concussion during the 37-15 second Test defeat in Durban last Saturday and injured his lip.

"His performance convinced me," said Noves, referring to how Ducuing fared when he replaced Huget early in the second Test.

"When a player stands in opposition to a 130kg player, risking his health and finishing in a wheelchair, I am not certain that one of us, including myself, would have tried to stop him.

"This state of mind pleased me."

The pack which started in Durban, including skipper and hooker Guilhem Guirado, has been given a vote of confidence.

Star No 8 Louis Picamoles, forced to retire injured last weekend during the opening half, has recovered.

Noves said he favoured continuity as Les Bleus seek to avoid a series whitewash.

"After the first two Tests, we were able to evaluate a little the state of the damage.

"Looking at the third Test, it will be interesting to see if the work of three to four weeks will bring something," he said.

"It is also necessary to take account of the injured players," he added, particularly Huget and prop Eddy Ben Arous.


South Africa



15 Brice Dulin, 14 Nans Ducuing, 13 Damian Penaud, 12 Gael Fickou, 11 Virimi Vakatawa, 10 Jules Plisson, 9 Baptiste Serin, 8 Louis Picamoles, 7 Kevin Gourdon, 6 Yacouba Camara, 5 Romain Taofifenua, 4 Yoann Maestri, 3 Rabah Slimani, 2 Guilhem Guirado (captain), 1 Jefferson Poirot

Substitutes: 16 Clement Maynadier, 17 Xavier Chiocci, 18 Uini Atonio, 19 Paul Jedrasiak, 20 Loann Goujon, 21 Maxime Machenaud, 22 Francois Trinh-Duc, 23 Vincent Rattez

Read more on:    france  |  johannesburg  |  rugby


Read News24’s Comments Policy

Love 2 Meet
Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2019/20 Absa Premiership season is in full swing. Will Mamelodi Sundowns retain their title? Or can one of Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates, Wits, SuperSport United - or another team perhaps - snatch glory from the Brazilians? Be sure to visit Sport24 for all the latest news!

Latest blogs

After 6 weeks of Super Rugby action, which South African team appears most likely to challenge for overall honours?

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.