Folau on the wing for Barbarians clash

2017-10-26 07:00
Israel Folau (Getty)

Sydney - Star fullback Israel Folau was named to play on the wing Thursday in the Australia team to face the Barbarians this weekend, with Nick Phipps captaining the side.

It will be Folau's final match of the year after he was left out of coach Michael Cheika squad for their upcoming tour of Japan and Britain in a bid keep him fresh for the 2018 season.

Karmichael Hunt will instead take the fullback role in Sydney on Saturday against a Barbarians side captained by Quade Cooper and mentored by former Wallabies coach Alan Jones.

Test veteran Phipps will skipper Australia in the absence of Michael Hooper, with Allan Alaalatoa and Samu Kerevi his deputies.

All but two of the team that beat New Zealand 23-18 last week have been rested with just Folau and backrower Jack Dempsey remaining.

Thirteen of Saturday's starting line-up have been capped and while the Barbarians clash isn't Test status, young guns Duncan Paia'aua and Billy Meakes will get their first taste in a Wallaby jersey.

Former skipper Stephen Moore was start on the bench, while Ben McCalman returns to the national fold following a horror run with shoulder injuries.

The Wallabies have only played the Barbarians in Australia once before, in 2009, when they ran out 55-7 winners.



15 Karmichael Hunt, 14 Henry Speight, 13 Samu Kerevi, 12 Billy Meakes, 11 Israel Folau, 10 Duncan Paia'aua, 9 Nick Phipps (captain), 8 Lopeti Timani, 7 Jack Dempsey, 6 Ned Hanigan, 5 Lukhan Tui, 4 Rory Arnold, 3 Allan Alaalatoa, 2 Jordan Uelese, 1 Tom Robertson

Substitutes: 16 Stephen Moore, 17 Tetera Faulkner, 18 Jermaine Ainsley, 19 Kane Douglas, 20 Ben McCalman, 21 Joe Powell, 22 Curtis Rona, 23 Izaia Perese


15 Tim Nanai-Williams (Chiefs & Samoa), 14 Taqele Naiyaravoro (Waratahs & Australia), 13 Tom Banks (Brumbies), 12 George Moala (Blues & New Zealand), 11 Eto Nabuli (Reds & Australia), 10 Quade Cooper (Reds & Australia, captain), 9 Augustine Pulu (Blues & New Zealand), 8 Wycliff Palu (Toyota Verblitz & Australia), 7 Matt Hodgson (Force & Australia, vice-captain), 6 Isi Naisarani (Force), 5 Sam Carter (Brumbies & Australia), 4 Luke Jones (Bordeaux Begles & Australia), 3 Taniela Tupou (Reds), 2 Andrew Ready (Reds), 1 Pekahou Cowan (Force & Australia)

Substitutes: 16 Anaru Rangi (Force), 17 Ben Alexander (Brumbies & Australia), 18 Salesi Manu (Bond), 19 Matt Philip (Force), 20 Kane Koteka (Force), 21 Theo Strang (Sydney University), 22 Sam Greene (Toyota Verblitz), 23 Andrew Kellaway (Waratahs)

Read more on:    barbarians  |  wallabies  |  israel folau  |  rugby


Read News24’s Comments Policy

Live Video Streaming
Video Highlights
Sport Talk

Love 2 Meet
Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2018/19 Absa Premiership season is in full swing. Will Mamelodi Sundowns retain their title? Or can one of Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates, Wits, SuperSport United - or another team perhaps - snatch glory from the Brazilians? Be sure to visit Sport24 for all the latest news!

Latest blogs

Which of the 4 South African team will finish with the fewest Super Rugby SA Conference points?

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.