Farrell wins Rugby Union Writers' Club award

2018-01-09 12:23
Owen Farrell (Getty)

London - England and British and Irish Lions centre Owen Farrell has been voted the Rugby Union Writers' Club personality of the year for 2017. 

Monday's dinner in London saw the 26-year-old pick up the Pat Marshall Memorial Award, following in the footsteps of previous winners such as Jonah Lomu, Jonny Wilkinson, Martin Johnson and Dan Carter. 

Farrell helped his club side Saracens to the Champions Cup, England to the Six Nations and the Lions to a drawn series in New Zealand last year and beat Exeter head coach Rob Baxter, Wales and Lions pair Jonathan Davies and Sam Warburton and team-mate Maro Itoje to the gong. 

Meanwhile, former Scotland lock Doddie Weir won the Special Award for a lifetime's contribution to rugby union.

Read more on:    owen farrell  |  rugby

What To Read Next


Read News24’s Comments Policy

Live Video Streaming
Video Highlights
Sport Talk

Love 2 Meet
Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2017/18 Absa Premiership season is under way. Can Bidvest Wits defend their title? Will Soweto giants Kaizer Chiefs or Orlando Pirates emerge victorious? Or will the bookies' favourites, Mamelodi Sundowns, taste success for a record eighth time? Stay glued to Sport24 to find out!

Latest blogs

Who would you like to see start in the No 10 jersey for the Springboks in the first Test against England in June?

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.