Ex-Sharks lock in Scotland squad

2017-08-18 07:54
Anton Bresler (Gallo Images)

Edinburgh - Former Sharks lock Anton Bresler has been picked in Scotland’s 41-man squad to attend a two-day camp.

Bresler, who has played for Edinburgh since 2014, was one of seven uncapped players picked by Scotland coach Gregor Townsend in his squad for their pre-season training camp in St Andrews.

Townsend's side will meet up on Sunday for a two-day camp that includes fresh faces Glasgow back-row Matt Fagerson and Edinburgh wing Darcy Graham.

The duo, who both shone for Scotland's under-20s at this year's World Cup, are joined by fellow newcomers Jamie Ritchie, Scott Cummings, Jamie Bhatti, Phil Burleigh and Bresler.

Injured British and Irish Lion Stuart Hogg is also among a group of six casualties invited by Scottish boss Townsend to attend the camp.

Additionally, coach Townsend recalled South African-born prop WP Nel and current Western Province centre Huw Jones, following their return to fitness.

"This camp is an opportunity to bring the players together who are foremost in our thoughts for the autumn Tests," Townsend was quoted as saying by AFP.

"It's an important step in our preparations for what will be three very tough Test matches."

Scotland face Samoa, New Zealand and Australia in their autumn fixtures.

Scotland squad:

Phil Burleigh (Edinburgh Rugby), Alex Dunbar (Glasgow Warriors), Darcy Graham (Edinburgh Rugby), Nick Grigg (Glasgow Warriors), Pete Horne (Glasgow Warriors), Rory Hughes (Glasgow Warriors), Huw Jones (Stormers), Lee Jones (Glasgow Warriors), Greig Laidlaw (Clermont Auvergne), Sean Maitland (Saracens), Ali Price (Glasgow Warriors), Henry Pyrgos (Glasgow Warriors), Finn Russell (Glasgow Warriors), Tommy Seymour (Glasgow Warriors), Duncan Taylor (Saracens), Greig Tonks (London Irish), Tim Visser (Harlequins), John Barclay (Scarlets), Jamie Bhatti (Glasgow Warriors), Magnus Bradbury (Edinburgh Rugby), Anton Bresler (Edinburgh Rugby), Scott Cummings (Glasgow Warriors), Matt Fagerson (BT Sport Academy aligned to Glasgow Warriors), Zander Fagerson (Glasgow Warriors), Ross Ford (Edinburgh Rugby), Grant Gilchrist (Edinburgh Rugby), John Hardie (Edinburgh Rugby), Stuart McInally (Edinburgh Rugby), Willem (WP) Nel (Edinburgh Rugby), Gordon Reid (London Irish), Jamie Ritchie (Edinburgh Rugby), Tim Swinson (Glasgow Warriors), Ben Toolis (Edinburgh Rugby), Hamish Watson (Edinburgh Rugby), Ryan Wilson (Glasgow Warriors)

Read more on:    scotland  |  rugby


Read News24’s Comments Policy

Love 2 Meet
Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2019/20 Absa Premiership season is in full swing. Will Mamelodi Sundowns retain their title? Or can one of Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates, Wits, SuperSport United - or another team perhaps - snatch glory from the Brazilians? Be sure to visit Sport24 for all the latest news!

Latest blogs

Debate rages! Who is the greatest ever Springbok hooker ... John Smit, Bismarck du Plessis or someone else perhaps?

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.