Etzebeth honoured by presidency role

2016-02-12 11:50
Eben Etzebeth (Gallo)

Cape Town - Springbok and Stormers lock Eben Etzebeth was recently elected as South African Rugby Players Association (SARPA) president at its annual general meeting.

SARPA is the industrial arm responsible for managing employment matters at MyPlayers - the rugby players’ organisation in South Africa.

Etzebeth takes over from fellow Springbok Bismarck du Plessis, who now plies his trade for French rugby club Montpellier.

“It’s a massive honour for me to be entrusted with the responsibility of representing professional players in South Africa in this manner,” said Etzebeth.

“Bismarck has done a sterling job representing all professional players over the past five years and I aim to continue the legacy he has left behind.

“Under his leadership, our organisation has made huge strides, which have contributed to the organisation’s efforts in creating a better environment for professional rugby players in South Africa.”

In his new position, Etzebeth will actively participate in key issues relating to employment matters affecting players.

“I see this position as a consultative one. There is plenty of experience within the system, such as Louis von Zeuner, Blake Kyd, Steph Roberts and Juan de Jongh, who I’ll be learning from as I go along. This also serves as an opportunity for me to grow as an individual and gather new skills,” he concluded.

As part of his duties as president, Etzebeth will be responsible for enforcing SARPA’s constitution and to exercise supervision over all the trade union’s affairs.

In other leadership developments within the players’ organisation, Southern Kings scrumhalf Kevin Luiters also joins the leadership group as an executive committee member, while Tendai “Beast” Mtawarira replaces Bismarck du Plessis on the MyPlayers board.

On the Players Trust, Jannie du Plessis, Jean de Villiers, Steven Hunt and Pierre Spies are replaced by Frans Malherbe, Teboho “Oupa” Mohoje, Werner Kok and Warren Whiteley as trustees.

SARPA Executive Committee: Eben Etzebeth (president), Clemen Lewis (vice-president), Blake Kyd, Juan de Jongh, Teboho Mohoje, Kevin Luiters, Zenay Jordaan, Steph Roberts and Warren Whiteley.

MyPlayers Board Members: Louis von Zeuner (chairperson), Kyle Brown, Pat Lambie, Eugene Henning, Tendai Mtawarira and Piet Heymans.

Trustees of the Player Trusts: Kyle Brown, Adriaan Strauss, Frans Malherbe, Tendai Mtawarira, Werner Kok, Teboho Mohoje and Warren Whiteley.

For more exclusive player content, check out

Read more on:    springboks  |  eben etzebeth  |  rugby


Read News24’s Comments Policy

Love 2 Meet
Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2019/20 Absa Premiership season is in full swing. Will Mamelodi Sundowns retain their title? Or can one of Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates, Wits, SuperSport United - or another team perhaps - snatch glory from the Brazilians? Be sure to visit Sport24 for all the latest news!

Latest blogs

After 6 weeks of Super Rugby action, which South African team appears most likely to challenge for overall honours?

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.