England Saxons beat SA 'A', seal series

2016-06-17 21:34
SA 'A' v England Saxons (Gallo Images)

George - A Christian Wade try snatched a 29-26 win for the England Saxons over South Africa 'A' in George on Friday and completed a 2-0 series triumph.

Wasps wing Wade, who has one senior cap, dived over in the corner five minutes from time at Outeniqua Park after a driving maul took the ball within a few metres of the tryline.

Flyhalf Danny Cipriani, another Saxon who has been capped by England, converted to complete a stirring comeback after the tourists trailed 26-8 six minutes into the second half.

The Saxons, who won 32-24 in Bloemfontein last weekend, responded to the 18-point deficit with tries by hooker Tommy Taylor, flank Matthew Kvesic and Wade, and Cipriani converted them all.

Taylor also scored a try during an opening half which ended with the South Africans 12-8 ahead before a large crowd that braved a southern hemisphere winter chill.

Cipriani failed to convert the first try - his lone miss from five shots at goal - but slotted a penalty that ultimately divided the teams as both scored four tries and converted three.

Wing Sergeal Petersen (2), flank Jean-Luc du Preez and centre Francois Venter were the South Africa 'A' try scorers with flyhalf Francois Brummer converting two and fullback Leolin Zas one.

Brummer fluffed three early kicks at goal and Petersen was unlucky to have a second half try disallowed because the referee wrongly judged a South African to be in touch.


South Africa 'A'

Tries: Du Preez, Petersen (2), Venter
Conversions: Brummer (2), Zas

England Saxons:

Tries: Taylor (2), Kvesic, Wade
Conversions: Cipriani 3
Penalty: Cipriani


South Africa 'A'

15 Leolin Zas, 14 Sergeal Petersen, 13 Francois Venter, 12 Lukhanyo Am, 11 Courtnall Skosan, 10 Francois Brummer, 9 Piet van Zyl, 8 Arno Botha, 7 Teboho Mohoje (captain), 6 Jean-Luc du Preez, 5 Rudolph Snyman, 4 Jason Jenkins, 3 Marcel van der Merwe, 2 Malcolm Marx, 1 Thomas du Toit

Substitutes: 16 Edgar Marutlulle, 17 Coenie Oosthuizen, 18 Lizo Gqoboka, 19 JD Schickerling, 20 Nizaam Carr, 21 Ntando Kebe, 22 Howard Mnisi, 23 Travis Ismaiel.

England Saxons

15 Mike Haley, 14 Semesa Rokoduguni, 13 Nick Tompkins, 12 Ollie Devoto, 11 Christian Wade, 10 Danny Cipriani, 9 Dan Robson, 8 Donovan Armand, 7 Matt Kvesic, 6 Dave Ewers, 5 Charlie Ewels, 4 Dave Attwood (captain), 3 Kieran Brookes, 2 Tommy Taylor, 1 Alec Hepburn

Substitutes:16 George McGuigan, 17 Ross Harrison, 18 Jake Cooper-Woolley, 19 Mitch Lees, 20 Sam Jones, 21 Micky Young, 22 Sam Hill, 23 Sam James.

Read more on:    england saxons  |  sa 'a'  |  rugby

What To Read Next


Read News24’s Comments Policy

Live Video Streaming
Sport Talk

Love 2 Meet
English Premiership flutter

Take Sport24's "expert" tips at your peril...

Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2017/18 Absa Premiership season is under way. Can Bidvest Wits defend their title? Will Soweto giants Kaizer Chiefs or Orlando Pirates emerge victorious? Or will the bookies' favourites, Mamelodi Sundowns, taste success for a record eighth time? Stay glued to Sport24 to find out!

Latest blogs

Springbok coach Allister Coetzee remains defiant, saying he won't resign despite a shambolic two years at the helm. Your thoughts?

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.