England pick Daly at fullback for BaaBaas clash

2018-05-25 13:53
Elliot Daly (Getty)

London - Elliot Daly will start England's non-cap international on Sunday against the Barbarians at fullback, with Danny Cipriani having to settle for a place among the replacements.

It is Daly's first start in the No 15 jersey, having made all but one of his previous England appearances on the wing, and the selection sees Mike Brown, the usual incumbent in the position, switch to the left wing.

Cipriani has been overlooked for a starting role despite his return to the senior England squad, with George Ford preferred at flyhalf.

The team for the match at Twickenham is co-captained by Ford and Chris Robshaw, and the latter is joined in the back row by Tom Curry, the Sale openside who appears destined to fill the seven jersey for next month's series against South Africa.

The Barbarians fixture serves as a warm-up for the three-Test series against South Africa that takes place in Johannesburg (June 9), Bloemfontein (June 16) and Cape Town (June 23).

"This is a good young squad and their work ethic has been outstanding over the last two weeks," said England coach Eddie Jones.

"Their application to learn has been very good but they are very young at Test level so this week's match against the Barbarians is a fantastic opportunity for them to step up."



15 Elliot Daly, 14 Jonny May, 13 Henry Trinder, 12 Piers Francis, 11 Mike Brown, 10 George Ford (co-captain), 9 Ben Youngs, 8 Zach Mercer, 7 Tom Curry, 6 Chris Robshaw (co-captain), 5 Joe Launchbury, 4 Elliott Stooke, 3 Kyle Sinckler, 2 Jack Singleton, 1 Joe Marler

Substitutes: 16 George McGuigan, 17 Ellis Genge, 18 Nick Schonert, 19 Josh Beaumont, 20 Mark Wilson, 21 Dan Robson, 22 Danny Cipriani, 23 Denny Solomona


15 Chris Ashton, 14 Josua Tuisova, 13 Semi Radradra, 12 Josh Matavesi, 11 Niyi Adeolokun, 10 Finn Russell, 9 Rhodri Williams, 8 Victor Vito, 7 Justin Tipuric, 6 Juan Martin Fernandez Lobbe (captain), 5 Sitaleki Timani, 4 Ultan Dillane, 3 John Afoa, 2 Benjamin Kayser, 1 Denis Buckley

Substitutes: 16 Tatafu Polota-Nau, 17 Loni Uhila, 18 Ramiro Herrera, 19 Joe Tekori, 20 Nili Latu, 21 Greig Laidlaw, 22 Luke McAlister, 23 Malakai Fekitoa

Read more on:    england  |  eddie jones  |  elliot daly  |  rugby


Read News24’s Comments Policy

Love 2 Meet
Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2018/19 Absa Premiership season is in full swing. Will Mamelodi Sundowns retain their title? Or can one of Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates, Wits, SuperSport United - or another team perhaps - snatch glory from the Brazilians? Be sure to visit Sport24 for all the latest news!

Latest blogs

The Springboks' best player at the 2019 Rugby World Cup was:

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.