England bench Hartley for Samoa finale

2017-11-23 12:39
Dylan Hartley (Getty)

London - England will have a new Test captain for the first time under coach Eddie Jones after he left Dylan Hartley on the bench for Saturday's international against Samoa at Twickenham.

Northampton hooker Hartley has been at the helm while England have won 21 out of 22 Tests since Jones took over following the hosts' first-round exit at the 2015 Rugby World Cup. 

But he was among the replacements named by Jones on Thursday for England's final Test of 2017, with Jamie George, the British and Irish Lions' first-choice hooker during this year's drawn series in New Zealand, given a full England debut. 

George is one of nine changes to the starting XV that defeated Australia 30-6 at Twickenham last week.

Meanwhile, flyhalf George Ford and former skipper Chris Robshaw, the backrow forward, will co-captain England in Hartley's absence, something the duo did in a non-cap international against the Barbarians in May. 

"This week it is an opportunity for some squad members who haven't been playing to put their best foot forward," said Jones. 

Cash-strapped Samoa, who announced their side late on Wednesday, have made three changes to the side that surprisingly lost 17-13 to Romania last week. 

Alapati Leiua starts at inside centre instead of Rey Lee-Lo, now on the bench. 

Up front, TJ Ioane is recalled at openside flank, with Jack Lam moving across to No 8 in place of veteran backrow Ofisa Treviranus, who is among the Pacific islanders' replacements. 

The other change made by coach Fuimaono Titimaea Tafua sees Josh Tyrell replace Faatiga Lemalu in the second row.



15 Mike Brown, 14 Jonny May, 13 Henry Slade, 12 Alex Lozowski, 11 Elliot Daly, 10 George Ford (co-captain), 9 Danny Care, 8 Sam Simmonds, 7 Chris Robshaw (co-captain), 6 Maro Itoje, 5 Charlie Ewels, 4 Joe Launchbury, 3 Dan Cole, 2 Jamie George, 1 Ellis Genge 

Substitutes: 16 Dylan Hartley, 17 Joe Marler, 18 Harry Williams, 19 Nick Isiekwe, 20 Courtney Lawes, 21 Ben Youngs, 22 Piers Francis, 23 Semesa Rokoduguni


15 Ahsee Tuala, 14 Paul Perez, 13 Kieron Fonotia, 12 Alapati Leiua, 11 David Lemi, 10 Tim Nanai-Williams, 9 Dwayne Polataivao, 8 Jack Lam, 7 TJ Ioane, 6 Piula Faasalele, 5 Chris Vui (captain), 4 Josh Tyrell, 3 Donald Brighouse, 2 Motu Matu’u, 1 Jordan Lay

Substitutes: 16 Manu Leiataua, 17 James Lay, 18 Hisa Sasagi, 19 Faatiga Lemalu, 20 Ofisa Treviranus, 21 Melani Matavao, 22 Rey Lee-Lo, 23 JJ Taulagi

Read more on:    england  |  samoa  |  eddie jones  |  dylan hartley  |  rugby

What To Read Next


Read News24’s Comments Policy

Live Video Streaming
Video Highlights
Sport Talk

Love 2 Meet
English Premiership flutter

Take Sport24's "expert" tips at your peril...


The 2017/18 Absa Premiership season is under way. Can Bidvest Wits defend their title? Will Soweto giants Kaizer Chiefs or Orlando Pirates emerge victorious? Or will the bookies' favourites, Mamelodi Sundowns, taste success for a record eighth time? Stay glued to Sport24 to find out!

Latest blogs

Who will finish top of the SA Conference in this year's Super Rugby tournament?

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.