Eight uncapped players in Ireland squad

2017-05-16 14:21
Joe Schmidt (Gallo)

Cape Town - The Ireland coaching group has named a 31-player squad for the three-Test tour of the USA and Japan in June. that includes eight uncapped players.

Ireland's first game of the tour takes place against the US Eagles at the Red Bull Arena in New Jersey on Saturday, June 10.

The squad then flies to Japan for two Tests against the RWC 2019 hosts who have been drawn in Pool A alongside Ireland at that tournament.

The first Test takes place at the Ecopa Stadium in Shizuoka on Saturday, June 17 with the final Test of the tour being held at the Ajinomoto Stadium in Tokyo on Saturday, June 24.

The squad contains eight uncapped players - John Cooney, Dave Heffernan, Rory O'Loughlin, Andrew Porter, James Ryan, Rory Scannell, Jacob Stockdale and Kieran Treadwell.

Ireland head coach, Joe Schmidt, commented: "With eleven players due to tour with the British and Irish Lions, plus a number of injuries to experienced internationals, the summer tour squad includes plenty of youth.

"There is a real freshness to the group, including the coaching staff, so we're looking forward to what will be a very challenging summer tour.

"We have retained a sprinkling of experienced players, some of whom may yet be called up to the Lions, but the focus is really on challenging the younger players to cope with the heat and foreign conditions as well as the speed and physicality of test rugby."

An additional player will be added to the squad following the weekend's provincial fixtures.

The tour will also see three young Irish coaches spend time with the national team. Racing 92's Ronan O'Gara will accompany the team for the New Jersey leg of the tour with Leinster's Girvan Dempsey with the group for the first week in Japan and Munster's Felix Jones working with the team for the final week of the tour in Tokyo.

Ireland Squad: 


Finlay Bealham, Jack Conan, Cian Healy, Dave Heffernan*, Dave Kilcoyne, Dan Leavy, Tommy O'Donnell, Jack O'Donoghue, Andrew Porter*, Rhys Ruddock, James Ryan*, John Ryan, Niall Scannell, Devin Toner, James Tracy, Kieran Treadwell*, Josh van der Flier


Joey Carbery, Andrew Conway, John Cooney*, Keith Earls, Paddy Jackson, Kieran Marmion, Luke Marshall, Luke McGrath, Tiernan O'Halloran, Rory O'Loughlin*, Garry Ringrose, Rory Scannell*, Jacob Stockdale*, Simon Zebo

Read more on:    ireland  |  joe schmidt  |  rugby


Read News24’s Comments Policy

Love 2 Meet
Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2019/20 Absa Premiership season is in full swing. Will Mamelodi Sundowns retain their title? Or can one of Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates, Wits, SuperSport United - or another team perhaps - snatch glory from the Brazilians? Be sure to visit Sport24 for all the latest news!

Latest blogs

After 3 weeks of Super Rugby action, which South African team appears most likely to challenge for overall honours?

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.