Bookies no believers in Boks' RWC 2019 chances

2017-05-10 14:11
Allister Coetzee (Gallo Images)

Cape Town - Bookmakers have reacted to the pool draw for the 2019 Rugby World Cup - by making the Springboks even greater outsiders for the title.

READ: Bok RWC draw: Too early to shiver!

No surprise that the world No 1-ranked All Blacks have been installed as overwhelming favourites for the tournament in Japan.

Steve Hansen's New Zealanders will be searching for a hat-trick of Webb Ellis Cup triumphs - and a fourth title overall - in the tournament which kicks off in 2 years, 4 months and 10 days from now.

The 12 confirmed teams learnt their fate at the draw in Kyoto on Wednesday.

Pool A will see Ireland, Scotland and hosts Japan (along with the yet-to-be determined identities of "Europe 1" and the "Playoff winner").

Pool B has grouped the mighty All Blacks alongside two-time winners, the Springboks, as well as Italy, "Africa 1 (likely to be Namibia) and the Repechage winner (Uruguay at the 2015 World Cup).

Pool C, or also known as the 'Group of Death', will see England, France, Argentina, "Americas 1" (likely to be the USA or Canada) and "Oceania 2" (likely to be Samoa or Fiji) fight it out for the two playoff spots.

Pool D will see the Wallabies, Wales, Georgia, "Oceania 1 (likely to be Fiji or Samoa) and "Americas 2" (likely to be Canada or the USA) do battle.

The remaining 8 teams will be decided following the completion of various qualifiers in the Oceania, Europe and Americas regions.

Leading SA bookmakers Sportingbet have the All Blacks as 11/10 favourites, followed by England at 4/1 and Australia at 11/2, who had their odds cut from 7/1 prior to the draw.

Ireland, who were on offer at 14/1 as late as Tuesday, are now fourth-favourites at 8/1.

The Springboks can be backed at 12/1, out from an earlier 9/1.

Wales (18/1), France and Argentina (20/1) and Scotland (40/1) represent the last of the likely title challengers.

Rugby World Cup 2019 pools:
Pool A: Ireland, Scotland, Japan, Europe 1, Playoff winner
Pool B: New Zealand, South Africa, Italy, Africa 1, Repechage winner
Pool C: England, France, Argentina, Americas 1, Oceania 2
Pool D: Australia, Wales, Georgia, Oceania 1, Americas 2

Read more on:    springboks  |  rwc 2019  |  rugby


Read News24’s Comments Policy

Love 2 Meet
Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2019/20 Absa Premiership season is in full swing. Will Mamelodi Sundowns retain their title? Or can one of Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates, Wits, SuperSport United - or another team perhaps - snatch glory from the Brazilians? Be sure to visit Sport24 for all the latest news!

Latest blogs

After 6 weeks of Super Rugby action, which South African team appears most likely to challenge for overall honours?

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.