Black Fern beats All Blacks trio to top NZ award

2018-12-13 12:45
Kendra Cocksedge
Kendra Cocksedge (@AllBlacks - Twitter)

Cape Town - Black Ferns scrumhalf Kendra Cocksedge made history on Thursday when she became the first woman to be crowned the New Zealand Player of the Year.

According to the All Blacks’ official website, Cocksedge - a 47-Test cap Black Fern - is the first woman to receive the Kelvin R Tremain Memorial award.

In sublime form in 2018, Cocksedge emerged the winner of the prestigious award from a strong field of nominees featuring All Blacks Brodie Retallick, Richie Mo’unga, and Codie Taylor.

She was also named the New Zealand Rugby Women’s Player of the Year - her second time (last in 2015) winning that award - and won the Fiao’o Faamausili Medal for player of the Farah Palmer Cup.

The awards cement her status as the most outstanding player in fifteens rugby in New Zealand - male or female - in 2018. She joins an impressive alumnus of previous winners including Sam Whitelock, Beauden Barrett, Ma’a Nonu, Brodie Retallick, Kieran Read and Richie McCaw.

The Black Ferns Sevens were crowned the New Zealand Team of Year - their first time winning the honour after a remarkable year with double-gold at the Commonwealth Games and at the Rugby World Cup 7s.

This year’s expanded awards celebrated the best of provincial and Super Rugby teams with back-to-back Super Rugby champions, the Crusaders, winning the inaugural National Team of the Year and Auckland head coach Alama Ieremia named the National Coach of the Year.

It was a huge night for the Crusaders whose flyhalf Richie Mo’unga saw off his team-mate Matt Todd and the Chiefs’ Solomon Alaimalo to win Super Rugby Player of the Year; Crusaders and All Blacks hooker Codie Taylor was named the Tom French Memorial Maori Player of the Year, and Crusaders and Canterbury lock Luke Romano was awarded the Duane Monkley Medal for player of the Mitre 10 Cup.

Full list of award winners:

Sky Television Fans Try of the Year

Winner: Chris Hala’ufia (St Peter's College)
Nominees: Kelly Brazier (Black Fern Sevens), Richie Mo'unga (Crusaders)

New Zealand Rugby Referee of the Year

Winner: Glen Jackson (Bay of Plenty)
Nominees: Richard Kelly (Taranaki), Rebecca Mahoney (Wairarapa Bush)

Charles Monro Rugby Volunteer of the Year

Winner: Irene Eruera-Taiapa (Horowhenua Kapiti)
Nominees: Steve Webling (Taranaki), Kim Wheeler (King Country)

New Zealand Rugby Age Grade Player of the Year

Winner: Tom Christie (Canterbury)
Nominees: Sam Darry (Canterbury), Risaleaana Pouri-Lane (Tasman), Kaleb Trask (Bay of Plenty)

Mitre 10 Heartland Championship Player of the Year

Winner: Brett Ranga (Thames Valley)
Nominees: Craig Clare (Wanganui), Willie Wright (South Canterbury)

Duane Monkley Medal

Winner: Luke Romano (Canterbury)
Nominees: TJ Faiane (Auckland), Fletcher Smith (Waikato)

Fiao’o Faamausili Medal

Winner: Kendra Cocksedge (Canterbury)
Nominees: Krysten Cottrell (Hawke’s Bay), Jackie Patea-Fereti (Wellington)

National Coach of the Year

Winner: Alama Ieremia (Auckland)
Nominees: Kieran Kite (Canterbury FPC), Scott Robertson (Crusaders)

New Zealand Coach of the Year

Winner: Clark Laidlaw (All Blacks Sevens)
Nominees: Allan Bunting (Black Ferns Sevens), Steve Hansen (All Blacks)

Super Rugby Player of the Year

Winner: Richie Mo'unga (Crusaders)
Nominees: Solomon Alaimalo (Chiefs), Matt Todd (Crusaders)

Tom French Memorial Maori Player of the Year

Winner: Codie Taylor (Ngati Raukawa / Muaupoko)
Nominees: Sarah Goss (Ngati Kahungunu), Rieko Ioane (Ngapuhi / Te Whanau a Apanui)

Richard Crawshaw Memorial All Blacks Sevens Player of the Year

Winner: Scott Curry (Bay of Plenty)
Nominees: Vilimoni Koroi (Otago), Regan Ware (Bay of Plenty)

Black Ferns Sevens Player of the Year

Winner: Michaela Blyde (Bay of Plenty)
Nominees: Kelly Brazier (Bay of Plenty), Sarah Goss (Manawatu)

New Zealand Rugby Women’s Player of the Year

Winner: Kendra Cocksedge (Canterbury)
Nominees: Aroha Savage (Counties Manukau), Selica Winiata (Manawatu)

Kelvin R Tremain Memorial Player of the Year

Winner: Kendra Cocksedge (Canterbury)
Nominees: Richie Mo’unga (Canterbury), Brodie Retallick (Hawkes Bay), Codie Taylor (Canterbury)

National Team of the Year

Winner: Crusaders
Nominees: Auckland, Thames Valley

New Zealand Team of the Year

Winner: Black Ferns Sevens
Nominees: All Blacks, All Blacks Sevens

Previous Kelvin R Tremain award winners (last 10 years):

2017 - Samuel Whitelock
2016 - Beauden Barrett
2015 - Ma’a Nonu
2014 - Brodie Retallick
2013 - Kieran Read
2012 - Richie McCaw
2011 - Jerome Kaino
2010 - Kieran Read
2009 - Richie McCaw
2008 - Andrew Hore

Read more on:    all blacks  |  rugby


Read News24’s Comments Policy

Love 2 Meet
Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2019/20 Absa Premiership season is in full swing. Will Mamelodi Sundowns retain their title? Or can one of Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates, Wits, SuperSport United - or another team perhaps - snatch glory from the Brazilians? Be sure to visit Sport24 for all the latest news!

Latest blogs

Debate rages! Who is the greatest ever Springbok hooker ... John Smit, Bismarck du Plessis or someone else perhaps?

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.