Big names dumped as All Blacks seek salvation in 'must-win' Test

2019-08-14 19:50
Steve Hansen
Steve Hansen (Getty Images)

Auckland - Long-time All Blacks mainstays Owen Franks and Ben Smith have been dropped for Saturday's must-win Bledisloe Cup Test against Australia in Auckland as the world champions seek salvation. 

For what coach Steve Hansen has labelled a "massive, must-win" Test he resisted the temptation to make wholesale changes following the record 47-26 defeat by the Wallabies in Sydney a week ago.

Instead, only three players have been axed for the return clash in Auckland but they are all big names with Rieko Ioane joining Franks and Smith on the reject pile. 

The two other changes involve Sonny Bill Williams returning at inside centre for the injured Jack Goodhue with Patrick Tuipulotu is in for the suspended Scott Barrett. 

Coming into the reshaped backline are greenhorn wings George Bridge (three Tests) and Sevu Reece (one) while Anton Lienert-Brown moves out one place to accommodate Williams. 

In the forwards Nepo Laulala, with 19 Tests behind him, takes over as tighthead prop from the 107-Test Franks. 

Neither Franks, Smith (79 Tests) nor Ioane (26 Tests) were retained as replacements. 

A week ago the All Blacks were on the wrong side of all the key statistics and with their forward pack out-muscled which left scrumhalf Aaron Smith struggling to give a quick service to the backline. 

But Hansen remains keen to see his twin playmaker scheme gel with Beauden Barrett at fullback and Richie Mo'unga at flyhalf. 

He has also maintained faith in the loose forward trio of Kieran Read, Sam Cane and Ardie Savea. 

"We have worked hard this week on our game and all that comes with it," Hansen said. 

"We've had a great preparation and really excited and looking forward to a massive, must-win match for the Bledisloe Cup on Saturday." 

The Bledisloe Cup, played annually between the trans-Tasman neighbours, has been in New Zealand hands since 2003 under a system which says the cup goes to the winner of the series and in the event of a draw it stays with the holder. 

This puts pressure on the Wallabies to win on Saturday if they are to regain the trophy. 

They last beat the All Blacks at Eden Park in 1986 and have lost all 18 matches they have played at the New Zealand fortress since then.


New Zealand 

15 Beauden Barrett, 14 Sevu Reece, 13 Anton Lienert-Brown, 12 Sonny Bill Williams, 11 George Bridge, 10 Richie Mo'unga, 9 Aaron Smith, 8 Kieran Read (captain), 7 Sam Cane, 6 Ardie Savea, 5 Sam Whitelock, 4 Patrick Tuipulotu, 3 Nepo Laulala, 2 Dane Coles, 1 Joe Moody

Substitutes: 16 Codie Taylor, 17 Ofa Tu'ungafasi, 18 Angus Ta'avao, 19 Jackson Hemopo, 20 Matt Todd, 21 TJ Perenara, 22 Ngani Laumape, 23 Jordie Barrett


15 Kurtley Beale, 14 Reece Hodge, 13 James O'Connor, 12 Samu Kerevi, 11 Marika Koroibete, 10 Christian Lealiifano, 9 Nic White, 8 Isi Naisarani, 7 Michael Hooper (captain), 6 Lukhan Salakaia-Loto, 5 Adam Coleman, 4 Izack Rodda, 3 Allan Alaalatoa, 2 Tolu Latu, 1 Scott Sio

Substitutes: 16 Folau Fainga'a, 17 James Slipper, 18 Taniela Tupou, 19 Rob Simmons, 20 Liam Wright, 21 Will Genia, 22 Matt Toomua, 23 Adam Ashley-Cooper

Read more on:    wallabies  |  all blacks  |  bledisloe cup  |  rugby


Read News24’s Comments Policy

Love 2 Meet
Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2019/20 Absa Premiership season is in full swing. Will Mamelodi Sundowns retain their title? Or can one of Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates, Wits, SuperSport United - or another team perhaps - snatch glory from the Brazilians? Be sure to visit Sport24 for all the latest news!

Latest blogs

After 3 weeks of Super Rugby action, which South African team appears most likely to challenge for overall honours?

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.