Big guns back for Wallabies

2016-11-24 14:36
Israel Folau (Gallo)

Cape Town - Israel Folau is one of a few big names that return to the Wallabies match-day squad to face Ireland in Dublin on Saturday.

Coach Michael Cheika has brought Israel Folau, Sekope Kepu, Dane Haylett-Petty, Reece Hodge and Rory Arnold back into the line-up, after giving them a lighter week in France, as the Wallabies bid to keep their Grand Slam attempt alive.

Rob Simmons will combine with Arnold in the lineout, continuing his resumption as the Wallabies’ lineout caller, with Adam Coleman injured against Scotland.

Lopeti Timani has been a casualty of a greater lineout focus against Ireland, Michael Cheika said, opting to bring Dean Mumm into the blindside flanker role, with Hooper resuming his spot at openside and David Pocock at No 8.

Mumm was suspended for Australia’s clash with Wales and came off the bench in the second match against Scotland, with Cheika happy to lean towards Timani’s ball-carrying, but the balance has shifted for Ireland.

Timani has been named on an extended bench, with one player to be omitted ahead of Saturday’s clash, a move that will be dependent on whether the Wallabies want a forward-heavy six-two split or a five-three makeup.

Cheika said he felt the Irish would target their tall timber in the match, though the breakdown is sure to be where most eyes are, given the recent run of form of Ireland flanker Sean O’Brien and the destruction David Pocock inflicted on the French last weekend.

The Wallabies lost to Ireland in their last clash in 2014 at Aviva Stadium, Cheika’s first tour as Wallabies coach and they will be aware of the threat the home side poses, after they ended New Zealand’s record Test-winning streak three weeks ago.



15 Rob Kearney, 14 Andrew Trimble, 13 Jared Payne, 12 Garry Ringrose, 11 Keith Earls, 10 Paddy Jackson, 9 Conor Murray, 8 Jamie Heaslip, 7 CJ Stander, 6 Sean O'Brien, 5 Devin Toner, 4 Iain Henderson, 3 Tadhg Furlong, 2 Rory Best (captain), 1 Jack McGrath

Substitutes: 16 Sean Cronin, 17 Cian Healy, 18 Finlay Bealham, 19 Ultan Dillane, 20 Josh Van der Flier, 21 Kieran Marmion, 22 Joey Carbery, 23 Simon Zebo


15 Israel Folau 14 Dane Haylett-Petty, 13 Tevita Kuridrani, 12 Reece Hodge, 11 Henry Speight, 10 Bernard Foley, 9 Will Genia, 8 David Pocock, 7 Michael Hooper, 6 Dean Mumm, 5 Rob Simmons, 4 Rory Arnold, 3 Sekope Kepu, 2 Stephen Moore (captain), 1 Scott Sio

Substitutes: 16 Tolu Latu, 17 James Slipper, 18 Allan Alaalatoa, 19 Kane Douglas, 20 Sean McMahon, 21 Nick Phipps, 22 Quade Cooper, 23 Sefanaia Naivalu


Read News24’s Comments Policy

Love 2 Meet
English Premiership flutter

Take Sport24's "expert" tips at your peril...


The 2018/19 Absa Premiership season is in full swing. Will Mamelodi Sundowns retain their title? Or can one of Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates, Wits, SuperSport United - or another team perhaps - snatch glory from the Brazilians? Be sure to visit Sport24 for all the latest news!

Latest blogs

How will the Springboks fare at this year's Rugby World Cup in Japan?

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.