Argentine Ezcurra to win first cap against Scotland

2018-06-21 20:20
Daniel Hourcade (AFP)

Resistencia - Centre Bautista Ezcurra will win his first Argentina cap when he plays against Scotland Saturday in a one-off Test at Estadio Centenario in Resistencia.

His selection ahead of Jeronimo de la Fuente is among six changes - one enforced - to the side outplayed 30-12 by Wales in Santa Fe last weekend.

Argentina also suffered a heavy loss to Wales in the first of two Tests, leaving them needing to defeat Scotland to avoid a mid-season whitewash.

In the other backline alteration, winger Sebastian Cancelliere gets a first start for the Pumas in place of injured Ramiro Moyano.

Among the forwards, coach Daniel Hourcade has altered the front, second and back rows for his final match in charge after a poor two-season run led him to quit.

Loosehead Javier Diaz replaces Santiago Garcia Botta, lock Matias Alemanno takes over from Tomas Lavanini and flanker Tomas Lezana comes in for Marcos Kremer.

At number eight, veteran Leonardo Senatore gets the nod ahead of Javier Ortega Desio for his first appearance of the June Tests.

In earlier tour matches, Scotland walloped Canada 48-10 before suffering a shock 30-29 defeat by the United States.



15 Emiliano Boffelli; 14 Bautista Delguy, 13 Matias Orlando, 12 Bautista Ezcurra, 11 Sebastian Cancelliere; 10 Nicolas Sanchez, 9 Martn Landajo; 8 Leonardo Senatore, 7 Tomas Lezana, 6 Pablo Matera; 5 Matias Alemanno, 4 Guido Petti; 3 Nahuel Tetaz Chaparro, 2 Agustin Creevy (captain), 1 Javier Diaz

Substitutes: 16 Julian Montoya, 17 Santiago Garcia Botta, 18 Santiago Medrano, 19 Marcos Kremer, 20 Tomas Lavanini, 21 Gonzalo Bertranou, 22 Santiago Gonzalez Iglesias, 23 Juan Cruz Mallia


15 Stuart Hogg; 14 Dougie Fife, 13 Nick Grigg, 12 Pete Horne, 11 Blair Kinghorn; 10 Adam Hastings, 9 George Horne; 8 David Denton, 7 Fraser Brown, 6 Magnus Bradbury; 5 Grant Gilchrist, 4 Tim Swinson; 3 Simon Berghan, 2 Stuart McInally (captain), 1 Allan Dell

Substitutes: 16 George Turner, 17 Jamie Bhatti, 18 Zander Fagerson, 19 Ben Toolis, 20 Jamie Ritchie, 21 Sam Hidalgo-Clyne, 22 James Lang, 23 Chris Harris


Read more on:    argentina  |  rugby


Read News24’s Comments Policy

Love 2 Meet
Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2018/19 Absa Premiership season is in full swing. Will Mamelodi Sundowns retain their title? Or can one of Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates, Wits, SuperSport United - or another team perhaps - snatch glory from the Brazilians? Be sure to visit Sport24 for all the latest news!

Latest blogs

The Springboks' best player at the 2019 Rugby World Cup was:

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.