All Blacks thump Wales in Dunedin

2016-06-25 11:27
Aaron Smith (Gallo Images)

Dunedin - New Zealand pounded Wales with pace and intensity and a masterful performance by Beauden Barrett to sweep the three-Test series with a 46-6 victory in Dunedin on Saturday.

Barrett, in a rare promotion from his regular super-sub role to starting fly-half. commanded a relentless attacking game by the All Blacks as he seamlessly took over from the injured Aaron Cruden.

Wales started strongly, desperate to salvage something from a tough series against the world champions, but were effectively on the ropes after 10 minutes.

By half-time the All Blacks were ahead 18-6 and they piled on a further 28 points after the break.

Barrett finished with a personal total of 26 points from two tries, five conversions and two penalties.

Ben Smith, George Moala, Dane Coles. Israel Dagg also scored for the All Blacks.

Wales were unable to cross the All Blacks line with their points courtesy of two Dan Biggar penalties.

With the All Blacks convincingly winning the first two Tests, coach Steve Hansen used the dead rubber to tinker with combinations in what proved to be a smooth transition.

It should have benefitted Wales who were surprised in particular at the naming of Moala at centre but instead Moala and debutants Elliot Dixon and replacement Liam Squire played like seasoned veterans.

The overwhelming scoreline extended New Zealand's domination over Wales to 29 consecutive Tests since they last lost 63 years ago, and stretched New Zealand's unbeaten run against all sides on home soil to 41 matches.

Wales controlled the game at the start. They sent a high kick to Julian Savea, which the recalled wing dropped, drove over the rucks to claim turnovers and had first points on the board with a Biggar penalty.

But when the All Blacks settled the momentum shifted and the world champions began to camp for increasingly long periods in Welsh territory.

A Barret penalty levelled the score, and although Wales immediately regained the lead with a Biggar penalty from the kick off in the 16th minute it would be the last time they would score.

The All Blacks put away their kick-chase game and used Ben Smith and Israel Dagg to attack at pace down the right flank making life a nightmare for Wales wing Hallam Amos.

Smith scored the first try in a marginal call over whether he touched the ball down before his leg slid over the sideline.

Moala, recalled after nearly a year in the wilderness for his second Test, bagged the second try which was again decided by television replays after Liam Williams appeared to rip the ball away before it hit the ground.

Wales turned down the chance of a penalty just on half-time and opted for a five-metre scrum but then lost the ball when they tried to attack the line.

Barrett scored his two tries early in the second half and was instrumental in igniting the attack which led to Dane Coles try, with Dagg running the length of the field to score his try in the last movement of the game.


New Zealand 46 (18)

Tries: Ben Smith, Beauden Barrett (2), George Moala, Dane Coles, Israel Dagg

Conversions: Barrett (4)

Penalties: Barrett (2)

Wales 6 (6)

Penalties: Dan Biggar (2)


New Zealand

5 Israel Dagg, 14 Ben Smith, 13 George Moala, 12 Ryan Crotty, 11 Julian Savea, 10 Beauden Barrett, 9 Aaron Smith, 8 Kieran Read (captain), 7 Sam Cane, 6 Elliot Dixon, 5 Brodie Retallick, 4 Sam Whitelock, 3 Charlie Faumuina, 2 Dane Coles, 1 Joe Moody

Substitutes: 16 Codie Taylor, 17 Wyatt Crockett, 18 Ofa Tu'ungafasi, 19 Luke Romano, 20 Liam Squire, 21 Tawera Kerr-Barlow, 22 Lima Sopoaga, 23 Waisake Naholo


15 Rhys Patchell, 14 Liam Williams, 13 Jonathan Davies, 12 Jamie Roberts, 11 Hallam Amos, 10 Dan Biggar, 9 Rhys Webb, 8 Taulupe Faletau, 7 Sam Warburton (captain), 6 Ross Moriarty, 5 Alun Wyn Jones, 4 Luke Charteris, 3 Tomas Francis, 2 Ken Owens, 1 Rob Evans

Substitutes: 16 Scott Baldwin, 17 Aaron Jarvis, 18 Samson Lee, 19 Jake Ball, 20 Ellis Jenkins, 21 Gareth Davies, 22 Rhys Priestland, 23 Scott Williams


Read News24’s Comments Policy

Live Video Streaming
Video Highlights

Love 2 Meet
English Premiership flutter

Take Sport24's "expert" tips at your peril...

Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2018/19 Absa Premiership season is in full swing. Will Mamelodi Sundowns retain their title? Or can one of Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates, Wits, SuperSport United - or another team perhaps - snatch glory from the Brazilians? Be sure to visit Sport24 for all the latest news!

Latest blogs

Which of the 4 South African team will finish with the fewest Super Rugby SA Conference points?

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.