ABs dominate World Rugby award nominations

2016-11-02 07:32
Steve Hansen (Getty Images)

London - World Rugby has unveiled the shortlists for seven top accolades, including the men’s and women’s sevens players of the year, to be presented at the World Rugby Awards 2016 dinner at the Hilton London Metropole on November 13.

The World Rugby Awards will celebrate an historic year of rugby which saw sevens make a hugely successful debut at the Rio 2016 Olympic Games, where Australia’s women and Fiji’s men added a gold medal to their series crowns.

Australia’s Olympic gold medallist Charlotte Caslick is one of three players nominated for the World Rugby Women’s Sevens Player of the Year award, alongside 2015 winner Portia Woodman of New Zealand - the top try-scorer on the 2015-16 HSBC World Rugby Women’s Sevens Series – and Emily Scarratt, the England and Great Britain captain.

Osea Kolinisau led Fiji to their first ever Olympic medal in Rio and is joined on the shortlist for the World Rugby Sevens Player of the Year award by France’s Virimi Vakatawa and South Africa’s Seabelo Senatla, who crossed for 66 tries in the 2015-16 series.

Fiji’s sevens stars also feature on the shortlist for World Rugby Team of the Year alongside Six Nations Grand Slam winners England and Rugby Championship winners New Zealand, who set a new record for consecutive Test wins by tier-one nations (18) after defeating Australia at Eden Park earlier this month.

These three nations also provide the three nominees for the World Rugby Coach of the Year with Ben Ryan, who stepped down after leading Fiji to series and Olympic success in 2016, joined by England coach Eddie Jones and Steve Hansen, the All Blacks coach who is already a three-time recipient of this award from 2012-14.

The three players nominated for the Breakthrough Player of the Year award have all come through the World Rugby U20 Championship in recent years, with England’s 2014 winning captain Maro Itoje joined by new All Blacks Ardie Savea and Anton Lienert-Brown.

In order to be eligible for this award, won by New Zealand’s Nehe Milner-Skudder in 2015, players must have played less than one year of senior international rugby with former players George Gregan and Felipe Contepomi among the panellists selecting the shortlist.

The IRPA (International Rugby Players’ Association) Try of the Year shortlist features two tries that began deep in the scoring side’s own 22 with Jamie Heaslip’s try for Ireland in their Six Nations encounter with France and Kaito Shigeno’s effort for Japan against Scotland in June. The third, by TJ Perenara, came direct from an Argentina restart, the All Black scrumhalf fielding the kick himself before the ball was spread wide and through the hands for Ben Smith to feed Perenara for the run-in.

The final shortlist announced on Tuesday is for the World Rugby Referee Award with Jérôme Garcès of France and Spain’s Alhambra Nievas nominated for a second year running. They are joined on the shortlist by two South Africans in Rasta Rasivhenge and Jaco Peyper.

World Rugby chairperson Bill Beaumont commented: “The World Rugby Awards celebrate excellence in rugby, honouring the world’s greatest players, coaches and teams as well as those who have given so much to the sport. The past year has produced some amazing performances by all the best men’s and women’s teams, in both 15s and sevens, so voting for the 2016 awards has been especially close and hard-fought. Each person on the various shortlists thoroughly deserves their nomination.

“This has been a special year in the history of our game as sevens made its Olympic Games debut in Rio. I have no doubt that the sevens player of the year awards will be a particularly difficult one to decide, given how many world-class performers we have seen throughout the year. For me, I am looking forward to a great evening of reflection on another fantastic 12 months for rugby.”

The shortlists for the prestigious World Rugby Player of the Year and World Rugby Women’s Player of the Year for 2016 will be announced on November 7.

Since its inception in 2001, the World Rugby Awards have recognised and celebrated the achievements of those involved at the highest level of the game, as well as acknowledging excellence in the areas of development and administration by those who demonstrate the values so integral to rugby.


World Rugby Women's Sevens Player of the Year

Charlotte Caslick (Australia)
Emily Scarratt (England)
Portial Woodman (New Zealand)

World Rugby Sevens Player of the Year

Osea Kolinisau (Fiji)
Seabelo Senatla (South Africa)
Virimi Vakatawa (France)

World Rugby Team of the Year 

Fiji Sevens
New Zealand

World Rugby Coach of the Year

Steve Hansen (New Zealand)
Eddie Jones (England)
Ben Ryan (Fiji Sevens)

World Rugby Breakthrough Player of the Year

Maro Itoje (England)
Anton Lienert-Brown (New Zealand)
Ardie Savea (New Zealand)

Try of the Year

Jamie Heaslip (Ireland, v France)
Kaito Shigeno (Japan, v Scotland)
TJ Perenara (New Zealand, v Argentina)

World Rugby Referee Award

Jérôme Garcès (France)
Alhambra Nievas (Spain)
Jaco Peyper (South Africa)
Rasta Rasivhenge (South Africa)

Read more on:    world rugby  |  steve hansen  |  eddie jones  |  rugby

What To Read Next


Read News24’s Comments Policy

Live Video Streaming
Video Highlights
Sport Talk

Love 2 Meet
Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2017/18 Absa Premiership season is under way. Can Bidvest Wits defend their title? Will Soweto giants Kaizer Chiefs or Orlando Pirates emerge victorious? Or will the bookies' favourites, Mamelodi Sundowns, taste success for a record eighth time? Stay glued to Sport24 to find out!

Latest blogs

Springbok coach Allister Coetzee remains defiant, saying he won't resign despite a shambolic two years at the helm. Your thoughts?

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.