Springboks clinch victory at Twickenham

2015-10-17 18:53
Handre Pollard (Gallo)

Cape Town - The Springboks on Saturday reached the Rugby World Cup semi-finals after beating Wales 23-19 (half-time 12-13) in a thrilling quarter-final clash at Twickenham in London.

As it happened: Springboks 23-19 Wales

A try five minutes from time by captain Fourie du Preez gave the Boks a victory after Wales had threatened to cause an upset.

Wales led 19-18 when Du Preez went over in the corner after a superb flick-pass from No 8 Duane Vermeulen, who had broken blind off a strong Bok scrum.

Flyhalf Handre Pollard scored all of two-time world champions South Africa's other points.

Du Preez's score gave South Africa a four-point lead and that meant Wales, with goal-kicking flyhalf Dan Biggar off the field for a head injury assessment, needed a try to regain the lead in a brutal and see-saw contest.

Biggar had a fine match, kicking 14 points and setting up Gareth Davies for Wales' only try.

Wales were forced to make a mammoth 189 tackles - 88 more than their opponents and in the end it took its toll.

The Boks will have to improve markedly though if they are to mount a serious challenge for the title.

They made several errors, on attack and defence, while Pollard also missed crucial kicks at goal.

South Africa will next play the winner of the match between France and New Zealand, which takes place in Cardiff later on Saturday.


South Africa:

Try: Fourie du Preez

Penalties: Handre Pollard (5)

Drop goal: Pollard


Try: Gareth Davies

Conversion: Dan Biggar

Penalties: Biggar (3)

Drop goal: Biggar


South Africa:

15 Willie le Roux, 14 JP Pietersen, 13 Jesse Kriel, 12 Damian de Allende, 11 Bryan Habana, 10 Handre Pollard, 9 Fourie du Preez (captain), 8 Duane Vermeulen, 7 Schalk Burger, 6 Francois Louw, 5 Lood de Jager, 4 Eben Etzebeth, 3 Frans Malherbe, 2 Bismarck du Plessis, 1 Tendai Mtawarira

Substitutes: 16 Adriaan Strauss, 17 Trevor Nyakane, 18 Jannie du Plessis, 19 Pieter-Steph du Toit, 20 Willem Alberts, 21 Ruan Pienaar, 22 Pat Lambie, 23 Jan Serfontein.


15 Gareth Anscombe, 14 Alex Cuthbert, 13 Tyler Morgan, 12 Jamie Roberts, 11 George North, 10 Dan Biggar, 9 Gareth Davies, 8 Toby Faletau, 7 Sam Warburton (captain), 6 Dan Lydiate, 5 Alun Wyn Jones, 4 Luke Charteris, 3 Samson Lee, 2 Scott Baldwin, 1 Gethin Jenkins.

Substitutes: 16 Ken Owens, 17 Paul James, 18 Tom Francis, 19 Bradley Davies, 20 Justin Tipuric, 21 Lloyd Williams, 22 Rhys Priestland, 23 James Hook

Read News24’s Comments Policy

Most Read

Opinion Poll

Who will win the 4-Test series between hosts South Africa and visitors England over Xmas, New Year and into January 2020?

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.