Malherbe still searching for first Bok points

2015-10-29 12:00
Frans Malherbe (Gallo Images)

London - Prop Frans Malherbe will be eager to opening his Springbok points scoring account against Argentina at The Stadium, Queen Elizabeth Olympic Park.

Malherbe, who retained his spot at tighthead for Friday's Rugby World Cup bronze final against the Pumas ahead of Jannie du Plessis, is the only player in the starting team not to have scored a point for the Boks.

Malherbe, playing in his 12th Test, will once again form part of the front row alongside Bismarck du Plessis and 'Beast' Mtawarira.

Historically, front rowers have an excellent try-scoring record in World Cup playoff matches - finals in particular.

Loosehead Tony Woodcock scored New Zealand's only try in their 2011 victory over France, while back in 1991 Wallaby loosehead Tony Daly was the only name on Australia's try scoresheet in their win over England.

Or maybe it just helps if your name is Tony...

Among the Bok starting team to face Argentina (kick-off at 22:00 SA time), Damian de Allende and Eben Etzebeth have a single try to their names.

On the bench Trevor Nyakane and Jannie du Plessis have a solitary five-pointer on their CVs, while replacement No 9 Rudy Paige, who will make his second Green and Gold appearance should he get onto the field. is also looking for his first try for the Springboks.

Sport24 Editor Garrin Lambley is covering the 2015 Rugby World Cup live from London


South Africa

15 Willie le Roux, 14 JP Pietersen, 13 Jesse Kriel, 12 Damian de Allende, 11 Bryan Habana, 10 Handre Pollard, 9 Ruan Pienaar, 8 Duane Vermeulen, 7 Schalk Burger, 6 Francois Louw, 5 Victor Matfield (captain), 4 Eben Etzebeth, 3 Frans Malherbe, 2 Bismarck du Plessis, 1 Beast Mtawarira

Substitutes: 16 Adriaan Strauss, 17 Trevor Nyakane, 18 Jannie du Plessis, 19 Lood de Jager, 20 Willem Alberts, 21 Rudy Paige, 22 Pat Lambie, 23 Jan Serfontein


15 Lucas Gonzalez Amorosino, 14 Santiago Cordero, 13 Matias Moroni, 12 Jeronimo de la Fuente, 11 Horacio Agulla, 10 Nicolas Sanchez (captain), 9 Tomas Cubelli, 8 Juan Martin Fernandez Lobbe, 7 Juan Manuel Leguizamon, 6 Javier Ortega Desio, 5 Tomas Lavanini, 4 Matas Alemanno, 3 Ramiro Herrera, 2 Julian Montoya, 1 Marcos Ayerza

Substitutes: 16 Lucas Noguera, 17 Juan Pablo Orlandi, 18 Juan Figallo, 19 Guido Petti, 20 Facundo Isa, 21 Martin Landajo, 22 Santiago Gonzalez Iglesias, 23 Juan Pablo Socino

Read News24’s Comments Policy

Most Read

Opinion Poll

Who will win the 4-Test series between hosts South Africa and visitors England over Xmas, New Year and into January 2020?

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.