Kok named Sevens Player of the Year

2015-11-02 11:13
Werner Kok (Getty Images)

Cape Town - Blitzboks star Werner Kok has been named World Rugby’s Sevens Player of the Year.

Kok received the award during a star-studded World Rugby Awards ceremony at Battersea Evolution in London on Sunday night.

In only his second full season, Kok was instrumental in South Africa’s performances in all nine rounds of the 2014/15 Sevens World Series, most notably in their Cup win on home soil in Port Elizabeth, and as the Blitzboks became the first to side to confirm qualification for the 2016 Olympic Games. He ended the season as the series’ leading tackler.

Other nominees for the award were Kok's compatriot Seabelo Senatla and Semi Kunatani of Fiji.

Main awards winners:

World Player of the Year - Dan Carter, New Zealand

World Team of the Year - New Zealand

World Coach of the Year - Michael Cheika, Australia

World Women's Player of the Year - Kendra Cocksedge, New Zealand

World Breakthrough Player of the Year - Nehe Milner-Skudder, New Zealand

World Sevens Player of the Year - Werner Kok, South Africa

World Women's Sevens Player of the Year - Portia Woodman, New Zealand

World Referee Award - Nigel Owens

What To Read Next

Read News24’s Comments Policy

Live Video Streaming
Video Highlights
Sport Talk
Most Read

Opinion Poll

Which of the five nominees for 2018 World Rugby Player of the Year deserves the award most?

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.