Josh Strauss named in Scottish World Cup squad

2015-09-01 17:57

London - Uncapped backrower Josh Strauss, who will qualify to represent Scotland on residential grounds on September 19, a day after the Rugby World Cup begins, was the surprise name in coach Vern Cotter's 31-man squad on Tuesday.

Strauss is joined by another South African-born player in Edinburgh prop WP Nel, who has won two caps, but there was no place for the latest "Kilted Kiwi" Hugh Blake.

Scrumhalf Greig Laidlaw captains a squad that has a total of 651 caps with three members - Alasdair Dickinson, Ross Ford and Sean Lamont - due to play in their third World Cup.

Scotland face France in Paris on Saturday in their final warm-up match before heading into the tournament where they will play South Africa, Samoa, Japan and the United States in Pool B.

Scotland squad:


Alasdair Dickinson, Ryan Grant, Gordon Reid, WP Nel, Jon Welsh, Fraser Brown, Ross Ford, Stuart McInally, Grant Gilchrist, Jonny Gray, Richie Gray, Tim Swinson, David Denton, John Hardie, Josh Strauss, Alasdair Strokosch, Ryan Wilson


Sam Hidalgo-Clyne, Greig Laidlaw (captain), Henry Pyrgos, Finn Russell, Duncan Weir, Mark Bennett, Peter Horne, Matt Scott, Richie Vernon, Sean Lamont, Sean Maitland, Tommy Seymour, Tim Visser, Stuart Hogg

Read News24’s Comments Policy publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
1 comment
Comments have been closed for this article.
Most Read

Opinion Poll

The Springboks' best player at the 2019 Rugby World Cup was:

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.