Japan bow out after claiming third win

2015-10-11 22:42
Kotaro Matsushima (AP)

Cape Town - Japan have won their third match at this year's Rugby World Cup by beating the US Eagles by 28-18 in a Pool B encounter played at Kingsholm in Gloucester on Sunday night. 

As it happened: USA v Japan

Japan led by 17-8 at half-time.

Both sides were prepared to give the ball air, but once again Japan proved why they are the surprise package at this year's tournament. Their excellent handling, resolute defence and accurate goal kicking by Ayumu Goromaru proved too much for the Eagles.



Tries: Takudzwa Ngwenya, Chris Wyles

Conversion: Alan MacGinty

Penalties: Alan MacGinty (2)


Tries: Kotaro Matsushima, Yoshikazu Fujita, Amanaki Mafi

Conversions: Ayumu Goromaru (2)

Penalties: Ayumu Goromaru (3)


United States

15 Chris Wyles (captain), 14 Takudzwa Ngwenya, 13 Seamus Kelly, 12 Thretton Palamo, 11 Zach Test, 10 AJ MacGinty, 9 Mike Petri, 8 Samu Manoa, 7 Andrew Durutalo, 6 Al McFarland, 5 Greg Peterson, 4 Hayden Smith, 3 Titi Lamositele, 2 Zach Fenoglio, 1 Eric Fry

Replacements: 16 Phil Thiel, 17 Oliver Kilifi, 18 Chris Baumann, 19 Cam Dolan, 20 John Quill, 21 Danny Barrett,  22 Niku Kruger, 23 Folau Niua


15 Ayumu Goromaru, 14 Yoshikazu Fujita, 13 Harumichi Tatekawa, 12 Craig Wing, 11 Kotaro Matsushima, 10 Kosei Ono, 9 Fumiaki Tanaka, 8 Ryu Koliniasi Holani, 7 Michael Broadhurst, 6 Michael Leitch (captain), 5 Justin Ives, 4 Luke Thompson, 3 Hiroshi Yamashita, 2 Shota Horie, 1 Keita Ingagaki

Replacements: 16 Takeshi Kizu, 17 Masataka Mikami, 18 Kensuke Hatakeyama, 19 Shinya Makabe, 20 Amanaki Mafi, 21 Hendrik Tui, 22 Atsushi Hiwasa, 23 Karne Hesketh

Read more on: usa japan rwc 2015 rugby

Read News24’s Comments Policy

Most Read

Opinion Poll

The Springboks' best player at the 2019 Rugby World Cup was:

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.