Hansen's message to RWC referees

2015-09-18 16:07
Steve Hansen (AFP)

London - New Zealand coach Steve Hansen appealed Friday for a fair deal from referees as he embarks on a campaign to produce the first side to win the World Cup twice in a row.

"All we want is for them to be consistent," Hansen said after naming a full strength squad for the All Blacks first match against Argentina at Wembley Stadium on Sunday.

No team has won back-to-back World Cup and the All Blacks, winners in 1987 and 2011, have never won it away from home.

But Hansen said if the referees are fair to all sides, and the All Blacks are not enveloped by the over-confidence that has ruined previous missions, then there is no reason why it cannot happen this time.

"Someone's going to have to do it first and we're the only ones in this tournament that have got an opportunity," he said.

"Although I want to emphasise that we learned in '07 if you look too far ahead you get on a plane and go home so we'll just worry about Argentina this week, Namibia next game and so forth. It's an old cliche but it's one we hang on to."

Under Hansen's reign, the All Blacks have only suffered defeat three times in 47 Tests.

"The game is extremely difficult to ref ... they're going to miss some things and we've just got to deal with that. And they'll make mistakes just like I do as a coach and our players do as players and in the game we have just have to deal with it," he said.

"But if they can be consistent, if that's offisde today then that's offside for the whole game as an example, and if they do that then no one's got any complaints."


New Zealand:

15 Ben Smith, 14 Nehe Milner-Skudder, 13 Conrad Smith, 12 Ma'a Nonu, 11 Julian Savea, 10 Dan Carter, 9 Aaron Smith, 8 Kieran Read, 7 Richie McCaw (captain), 6 Jerome Kaino, 5 Sam Whitelock, 4 Brodie Retallick, 3 Owen Franks, 2 Dane Coles,1 Tony Woodcock.

Substitutes: 16 Keven Mealamu, 17 Wyatt Crockett, 18 Charlie Faumuina, 19 Victor Vito, 20 Sam Cane, 21 TJ Perenara, 22 Beauden Barrett, 23 Sonny Bill Williams


15 Joaquin Tuculet, 14 Santiago Cordero, 13 Marcelo Bosch, 12 Juan Martin Hernandez, 11 Juan Imhoff, 10 Nicolas Sanchez, 9 Tomas Cubelli, 8 Leonardo Senatore, 7 Juan Martin Fernandez Lobbe, 6 Pablo Matera, 5 Tomas Lavanini, 4 Guido Petti, 3 Nahuel Tetaz Chaparro, 2 Agustin Creevy (captain), 1 Marcos Ayerza

Substitutes: 16 Julian Montoya, 17 Lucas Noguera, 18 Ramiro Herrera, 19 Mariano Galarza, 20 Juan Manuel Leguizamon, 21 Martin Landajo, 22 Jeronimo De La Fuente, 23 Lucas Gonzalez Amorosino 

Read News24’s Comments Policy

Opinion Poll

The Springboks' best player at the 2019 Rugby World Cup was:

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.