Duane backs Meyer to remain Bok coach

2015-10-30 18:00
Duane Vermeulen (Gallo Images)

Cape Town - The Springboks have thrown their weight behind Heyneke Meyer to stay on as head coach.

READ: Springboks' Test record against Argentina

READ: 15 stats and facts - Boks v Argentina

READ: Bok record holders at the Olympic Stadium

Meyer has come under fire following South Africa’s Rugby World Cup semi-final exit against New Zealand last weekend, with many pundits calling for a new coach with a more exciting game plan.

The Boks conclude their World Cup campaign with a clash against Argentina in the Bronze Final on Friday.

Meyer’s fate is likely to be determined at a SARU council meeting later in the year, but No 8 Duane Vermeulen has backed him to stay on in the job.

“We would love to see him stay, but you never know what's going on in his head,” Vermeulen was quoted as saying by the Daily Mail.

“It's all up to him, but if it doesn't happen then hopefully he'll still be available where he can teach the younger guys coming through,” Vermeulen said, referring to rumours that Meyer could assume a youth development role in the Springbok set-up.

Friday’s match at London’s Olympic Stadium is scheduled for 22:00 (SA time).


South Africa:

15 Willie le Roux, 14 JP Pietersen, 13 Jesse Kriel, 12 Damian de Allende, 11 Bryan Habana, 10 Handre Pollard, 9 Ruan Pienaar, 8 Duane Vermeulen, 7 Schalk Burger, 6 Francois Louw, 5 Victor Matfield (captain), 4 Eben Etzebeth, 3 Frans Malherbe, 2 Bismarck du Plessis, 1 Beast Mtawarira

Substitutes: 16 Adriaan Strauss, 17 Trevor Nyakane, 18 Jannie du Plessis, 19 Lood de Jager, 20 Willem Alberts, 21 Rudy Paige, 22 Pat Lambie, 23 Jan Serfontein


15 Lucas Gonzalez Amorosino, 14 Santiago Cordero, 13 Matias Moroni, 12 Jeronimo de la Fuente, 11 Horacio Agulla, 10 Nicolas Sanchez (captain), 9 Tomas Cubelli, 8 Juan Martin Fernandez Lobbe, 7 Juan Manuel Leguizamon, 6 Javier Ortega Desio, 5 Tomas Lavanini, 4 Matas Alemanno, 3 Ramiro Herrera, 2 Julian Montoya, 1 Marcos Ayerza

Substitutes: 16 Lucas Noguera, 17 Juan Pablo Orlandi, 18 Juan Figallo, 19 Guido Petti, 20 Facundo Isa, 21 Martin Landajo, 22 Santiago Gonzalez Iglesias, 23 Juan Pablo Socino

Read News24’s Comments Policy

Most Read

Opinion Poll

Who will win the 4-Test series between hosts South Africa and visitors England over Xmas, New Year and into January 2020?

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.