'Composed' All Blacks ready for Boks

2015-10-22 15:48
Steve Hansen (Gallo Images)

London - New Zealand coach Steve Hansen on Thursday promised "a performance to be proud of" in Saturday's World Cup semi-final against South Africa as he announced just one change to his team.

READ: Boks v All Blacks - 19 stats and facts

READ: Springboks' Test record against the All Blacks

READ: Boks have RWC wood on All Blacks

Joe Moody comes in for loosehead prop Wyatt Crockett who suffered a groin strain in the All Blacks 62-13 quarter-final win over France.

"We're ready to go," Hansen said ahead of the Twickenham clash.

The defending champions had prepared well during the week to "produce another game we can all be proud of" after demolishing France.

"Though we've met (South Africa) many times over the years, we've only played three times at the Rugby World Cup and these Cup finals matches are totally different," Hansen said.

"They have a live-or-die nature to them and both teams will be desperate to advance.

"As a group we're really looking forward to this challenge.

"It will require a massive amount of intensity and composure and accurate skill execution. This team has high expectations of itself and enjoys the big occasions."

Moody was called into the New Zealand side after Tony Woodcock was injured out of the tournament in their final pool game against Tonga.

This is fewest changes the All Blacks have made to their starting line-up so far in the tournament and the smallest between successive World Cup matches since making no changes at all to the side that defeated Australia in the 2011 semi-finals and went on to beat France in the final.

Wing Julian Savea, who scored three of the All Blacks nine tries against France, has scored eight tries to equal the single Tournament record held by South Africa's Bryan Habana, who he faces on Saturday and All Blacks great Jonah Lomu.

The All Blacks match-day 23 has an average age of 28 and 1 318 caps of experience.


South Africa:

15 Willie le Roux, 14 JP Pietersen, 13 Jesse Kriel, 12 Damian de Allende, 11 Bryan Habana, 10 Handre Pollard, 9 Fourie du Preez (captain), 8 Duane Vermeulen, 7 Schalk Burger, 6 Francois Louw, 5 Lood de Jager, 4 Eben Etzebeth, 3 Frans Malherbe, 2 Bismarck du Plessis, 1 Tendai Mtawarira

Substitutes: 16 Adriaan Strauss, 17 Trevor Nyakane, 18 Jannie du Plessis, 19 Victor Matfield, 20 Willem Alberts, 21 Ruan Pienaar, 22 Pat Lambie, 23 Jan Serfontein

New Zealand:

15 Ben Smith, 14 Nehe Milner-Skudder, 13 Conrad Smith, 12 Ma'a Nonu, 11 Julian Savea, 10 Daniel Carter, 9 Aaron Smith, 8 Kieran Read, 7 Richie McCaw (captain), 6 Jerome Kaino, 5 Sam Whitelock, 4 Brodie Retallick, 3 Owen Franks, 2 Dane Coles, 1 Joe Moody

Substitutes 16 Keven Mealamu, 17 Ben Franks, 18 Charlie Faumuina, 19 Victor Vito, 20 Sam Cane, 21 Tawera Kerr-Barlow, 22 Beauden Barrett, 23 Sonny Bill Williams

Read News24’s Comments Policy

Most Read

Opinion Poll

Who will win the 4-Test series between hosts South Africa and visitors England over Xmas, New Year and into January 2020?

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.