Carter named World Player of the Year

2015-11-02 06:42
Dan Carter (AP)

London - All Black flyhalf Dan Carter was named World Player of the Year for the third time on Sunday, just a day after inspiring his country to 34-17 World Cup final victory over Australia.

The 33-year-old also won the award in 2005 and 2012.

Carter scored 19 points in Saturday's final in what was his 112th and last international appearance.

Carter joins his All Black captain Richie McCaw as a three-time recipient of the prestigious accolade and follows in the footsteps of other previous winners such as Thierry Dusautoir, Bryan Habana and Jonny Wilkinson.

New Zealand were named Team of the Year after becoming the first nation to successfully defend the World Cup.

Australia coach Michael Cheika received the Coach of the Year accolade after transforming the Wallabies in his 12 months at the helm, guiding them to The Rugby Championship title and the World Cup final.

Carter is the all-time leading points scorer in international rugby with 1 598 points to his name.

He received the award ahead of five other nominees - All Blacks teammate Julian Savea, Australia flank Michael Hooper and No 8 David Pocock, Wales second-row Alun Wyn Jones and Scotland scrumhalf Greig Laidlaw.

Main awards winners:

World Player of the Year - Dan Carter, New Zealand

World Team of the Year - New Zealand

World Coach of the Year - Michael Cheika, Australia

World Women's Player of the Year - Kendra Cocksedge, New Zealand

World Breakthrough Player of the Year - Nehe Milner-Skudder, New Zealand

World Sevens Player of the Year - Werner Kok, South Africa

World Women's Sevens Player of the Year - Portia Woodman, New Zealand

World Referee Award - Nigel Owens

Read News24’s Comments Policy

Most Read

Opinion Poll

Who will win the 4-Test series between hosts South Africa and visitors England over Xmas, New Year and into January 2020?

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.