Breakthrough Player of the Year nominees revealed

2015-10-26 21:02
Nehe Milner-Skudder (Gallo Images)

London - World Rugby have revealed its three nominees for the Breakthrough Player of the Year award.

Scotland centre Mark Bennett, 22, has been nominated along with 24-year-old New Zealand back Nehe Milner-Skudder and 19-year-old Georgia scrumhalf Vasil Lobzhanidze.

Award judges, including 139-times Australian capped George Gregan and former Argentina centre Felipe Contepomi, are looking for "a player who has burst on to the rugby scene showing tremendous skill throughout the year and has played no more than one year of international rugby".

The award winner will be announced at the World Rugby Awards dinner in London on Sunday at the conclusion of this year's tournament.

For my money there can only be one winner: Nehe Milner-Skudder

Sport24 Editor Garrin Lambley is covering the 2015 Rugby World Cup live from London.

What To Read Next

Read News24’s Comments Policy

Live Video Streaming
Sport Talk
Most Read

Opinion Poll

Springbok coach Allister Coetzee remains defiant, saying he won't resign despite a shambolic two years at the helm. Your thoughts?

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.