World stars headline BaaBaas squad

2015-11-03 14:23
Nehe Milner-Skudder (Getty)

London - New Zealand and Australia’s World Cup finalists join forces in the Barbarians’ superstar side when they take on Gloucester and Argentina this month.

Wing Nehe Milner-Skudder, the All Blacks' opening try scorer in the 34-17 win against the Wallabies, picked up the World Rugby Breakthrough Player of the Year award on Sunday night.

No-one made more clean breaks (15) or metres (561) in the tournament than the Hurricanes wing.

“It felt pretty amazing and to come along and accept this award is pretty humbling,” he said after picking up the prize alongside the likes of Dan Carter and Richie McCaw. “I admire a lot of these guys. I used to watch them on TV and to be around them in the same team is a privilege and a massive honour."

Milner-Skudder will be joined by Tawera Kerr-Barlow and Charlie Faumuina, as well as fellow wing Waisake Naholo, when the world famous invitation club returns to action at Kingsholm on November 17, before taking on World Cup semi-finalists Argentina in the Killik Cup match at Twickenham on November 21.

Tevita Kuridrani - the scorer of Australia’s second final try - has been added to the squad and joins Wallabies captain Stephen Moore and flank Scott Fardy in a 24-man group.

The Barbarians, who celebrate their 125th anniversary this year, have confirmed their full squad with a combined total of 682 international caps and representatives from New Zealand, Australia, South Africa and Fiji.

It contains of the world’s great second row partnerships in South Africa’s Victor Matfield and Bakkies Botha who are backed up by rising star Lood de Jager.

And head coach Michael Cheika will have formidable firepower at his disposal with the likes of Fiji’s World Cup star Nemani Nadolo lining up with  South Africa’s Pat Lambie and Australia’s Joe Tomane.

There is world class front row potential with Moore and Faumuina alongside South Africa’s Tendai Mtawarira, while flank Fardy was one of Australia’s most consistent World Cup performers.

There are two uncapped players in the squad: Cheetahs centre Francois Venter and Hurricanes flank Ardie Savea.

Barbarians squad:


Ryan Crotty (Crusaders & New Zealand), Tawera Kerr-Barlow (Chiefs & New Zealand), Tevita Kuridrani (Brumbies & Australia), Pat Lambie (Sharks & South Africa), Nehe Milner Skudder (Hurricanes & New Zealand), Nemani Nadolo (Crusaders & Fiji), Waisake Naholo (Highlanders & New Zealand), Cobus Reinach (Sharks & South Africa), Lima Sopoaga (Highlanders & New Zealand), Joe Tomane (Brumbies & Australia), Francois Venter (Cheetahs)


Bakkies Botha (South Africa), Scott Fardy (Brumbies & Australia), Charlie Faumuina (Blues & New Zealand), James Hanson (Reds & Australia), Stephen Hoiles (Waratahs & Australia), Lood de Jager (Cheetahs & South Africa), Jamie Mackintosh (Chiefs & New Zealand), Victor Matfield (Northampton Saints & South Africa), Stephen Moore (Brumbies & Australia), Tendai Mtawarira (Sharks & South Africa), Ardie Savea (Hurricanes), Toby Smith (Melbourne Rebels & Australia), Warren Whiteley (Lions & South Africa)

Read more on:    barbarians  |  nehe milner-skudder  |  rugby


Read News24’s Comments Policy

Love 2 Meet
English Premiership flutter

Take Sport24's "expert" tips at your peril...

Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2018/19 Absa Premiership season is in full swing. Will Mamelodi Sundowns retain their title? Or can one of Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates, Wits, SuperSport United - or another team perhaps - snatch glory from the Brazilians? Be sure to visit Sport24 for all the latest news!

Latest blogs

The Springboks' best player at the 2019 Rugby World Cup was:

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.