Who's 2013's top rugby player?

2013-12-12 12:00
Eben Etzebeth and Bismarck du Plessis (Gallo Images)
Cape Town - Five key members of the Springbok squad in 2013 will go head-to-head for the annual SA Rugby Player of the Year Award, while the Pumas have been rewarded for their great form this season with nominations in four categories.

Springbok captain Jean de Villiers, the winner in 2008 who led South Africa to 10 victories in 12 Tests in 2013, will go up against Bismarck du Plessis, Eben Etzebeth, Willie le Roux and Duane Vermeulen for the most prestigious individual award in South African rugby.

Etzebeth is also nominated in the category of Young Player of the Year, where he will face stiff competition from fellow Springboks Pieter-Steph du Toit, Siya Kolisi and Jan Serfontein, as well as the fleet-footed Springbok Sevens and SA Under-20 star Cheslin Kolbe.

The award for Coach of the Year is a straight three-sided shoot-out between Heyneke Meyer, Jimmy Stonehouse and Brendan Venter while the teams they respectively coached in 2013 - the Springboks, the Pumas (Stonehouse also coached the SA President’s XV to victory in the IRB Tbilisi Cup) and the Sharks’ Currie Cup side - are the three nominations for Team of the Year.

Pumas try-scoring ace Rosco Speckman has been nominated in two categories - Vodacom Cup and Currie Cup First Division Player of the Year - meaning the Mpumalanga Rugby Union, winners of the Currie Cup First Division and Vodacom Cup runners-up, has capped a great season with a total of four nominations.

Le Roux (Cheetahs), Adriaan Strauss (Cheetahs) or Vermeulen (Stormers) will be named Super Rugby Player of the Year.

Seven players were nominated in two categories. They are Etzebeth, Le Roux, Vermeulen, Speckman, Kolbe (Young Player and Currie Cup Premier Division Player of the Year), Seabelo Senatla (SA Under-20 and SA Sevens Player of the Year) and Fred Zeilinga (Vodacom Cup and Currie Cup Premier Division Player of the Year).

“We’ve included various important stakeholders, including the media, public, administrators and the provincial and franchise coaches, in the voting process,” said SARU CEO Jurie Roux.

“The coaches play a vital role in the success of a team, so it is pleasing to see them involved in the voting process yet again. I think the nominees in the various categories are a fair reflection of what has been a very good year for South African rugby.

“Looking at the votes we got from the public, it is clear that our fans know their rugby. All the categories were hotly contested and I would like to wish the various nominees good luck for the Awards.”

The nominations for the SuperSport Try of the Year Award will be finalised early in 2014 and the winners will be named at a glittering function at Gold Reef City in Johannesburg on 12 February next year.

All the nominations for 2013 (in alphabetical order):

SARU Rugby Player of the Year:
1.    Jean de Villiers
2.    Bismarck du Plessis
3.    Eben Etzebeth
4.    Willie le Roux
5.    Duane Vermeulen

Young Player of the Year:
1.    Pieter-Steph du Toit
2.    Eben Etzebeth
3.    Cheslin Kolbe
4.    Siya Kolisi
5.    Jan Serfontein

Team of the Year:
1.    Pumas (Vodacom Cup, Currie Cup First Division)
2.    The Sharks (Currie Cup)
3.    Springboks

Coach of the Year:
1.    Heyneke Meyer (Springboks)
2.    Jimmy Stonehouse (Steval Pumas)
3.    Brendan Venter (The Sharks Absa Currie Cup)

SA Under-20 Player of the Year:
1.    Jacques du Plessis
2.    Cheslin Kolbe
3.    Seabelo Senatla

SA Sevens Player of the Year:
1.    Cornal Hendricks
2.    Frankie Horne
3.    Seabelo Senatla

Super Rugby Player of Year:
1.    Willie le Roux (Cheetahs)
2.    Adriaan Strauss (Cheetahs)
3.    Duane Vermeulen (Stormers)

Vodacom Cup Player of the Year:
1.    Marnitz Boshoff (Golden Lions)
2.    Rosco Speckman (Pumas)
3.    Fred Zeilinga (Sharks XV)

Currie Cup Premier Division Player of the Year:
1.    Cheslin Kolbe (Western Province)
2.    Scarra Ntubeni (Western Province)
3.    Fred Zeilinga (Sharks)

Currie Cup First Division Player of the Year:
1.    Alshaun Bock (SWD Eagles)
2.    Tiger Mangweni (EP Kings)
3.    Rosco Speckman (Pumas)

Note: Other awards that will be presented on 12 February 2014 are in the categories of SARPA Players’ Player of the Year, SuperSport Try of the Year, Craven Week Player of the Year, Marriott Referee Award, Women’s Player of the Year and Community Cup Player of the Tournament.

HAVE YOUR SAY: Who is the best SA rugby player of 2013? Send your thoughts to Sport24 to be published on our MySport24 page or join the debate on Sport24's forum.

Read more on:    springboks  |  saru  |  rugby

What To Read Next


Read News24’s Comments Policy publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.
Live Video Streaming
Sport Talk

Love 2 Meet
Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter

English Premiership flutter

Take Sport24's "expert" tips at your peril...


The 2017/18 Absa Premiership season is under way. Can Bidvest Wits defend their title? Will Soweto giants Kaizer Chiefs or Orlando Pirates emerge victorious? Or will the bookies' favourites, Mamelodi Sundowns, taste success for a record eighth time? Stay glued to Sport24 to find out!

Latest blogs

Springbok coach Allister Coetzee remains defiant, saying he won't resign despite a shambolic two years at the helm. Your thoughts?

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.